Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Really good! Tastes soooo much better than the frozen ones! Easy way to use leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I am only rating this for the dough and cooking instructions. I didn't even read the ingredients from the filling recipes, because I read the Potato, Cheese & Onion Filling recipe on this page: pittsburgh.about.com/od/recipes/r/pierogies.htm. I'm from Pittsburgh, and this sounded like how I remember mom making them when I was a kid. These are better! Wow. A real trip down memory lane, and fantastic. Chewy, crisp, buttery dough. Perfect. The filling I used is 5 medium white potatoes, diced and boiled, mixed with a large onion roughly diced and lightly sauteed with a little less than 1/2 stick of butter. Mix in about 1/2 pound of cheddar (or other) shredded cheese. Easier to work with if you let it chill for an hour or so. Not a problem if you make the filling first, since you'll take at least an hour to get to where the dough's ready to be filled anyway. Be generous when you wet the rim of the open pierogi before closing it. If your dough is dry (or too floured from rolling or crancking through a pasta machine) a little extra water will turn this extra flour into glue. Really. Without it, the flour will keep the thing from staying shut. Get them damp enough to remain shiny for a minute or so and you'll never have one pop open when you boil it. Don't be stingy with the butter when you're frying these things after you boil them. It will ensure even cooking and a more crisp outside. If the dough was too sticky, you didn't add enough flour while kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was the most labor intensive food item I've ever attempted to make and it was also an epic failure. I followed the directions for making the dough to the letter. It was the stickiest dough I have ever made. At that point I should have realized that I needed to use at least twice as much flour as the recipe called for, but instead of trusting my insticts on this I wrapped up this mass of stickyness in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge overnight. The next day I took it out to make the dumplings. I couldn't even get it off of the plastic wrap. It was stickier than taffy. At this point I did add more flour, but there was no saving it. I rolled it out and cut some rounds. Most of the rounds were still too sticky to pry up from the rest of the dough. I ended up making 10 extremely gooey horrible looking dumplings. I didn't even attempt to boil them. Most of them had huge gaping holes due to the evilness of this dough. I decided to treat them like potstickers and attempted to pan fry and then steam them. I ended up with one raw dough side and one burnt side. They went in the trash and I just ate the fillings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I am Polish (I grew up in Poland) and had many great pierogi. I myself am still learning to make them and I try to practice whenever I can. I like this recipe but the dough was too sticky and it needed more flour so I added it as I went. I made the sauerkraut filling and in Poland we added finely chopped mushrooms to it so that's what I did. We ate them boiled with fried onion on top and tonight as leftovers I will fry the pierogi themselves. I brushed them with oil before storing them in the fridge so they wouldn't stick together once they got cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
this is a great recipe,my mother-in-law is polish and we only get these from her at christmas time,now I can make them whenever we want,I added chopped ham off the bone to my potato mix aswell,makes them extra yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
5 stars for sure!!! Used my own mashed potatoes WITH CHEESE, fired in butter and onions, and thought I was on the steps of Heaven!! We always put Cooper Sharp, Velveeta, or Cheddar in the potato mix. I'll be using this recipe to also make pierogi lasagna! Thanks so much!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This turned out EXCELLENT! I had TON's of left over mashed potatoes after Thanksgiving and didn't want them to go to waist. Dough came out perfect....added a little sugar to the dry mixture to sweeten it up a little bit (only about 2 tblsp). For the filling I sauteed two sweet onions in a stick of butter, added about 3 cups of left over potatoes, added 1/2 cup of bacon bits. Did a double batch and it made about 70 pierogi's (plus a couple of gigantic ones just for me! :) After stuffing and folding/crimping them, only boiled about six at a time. Once they started floating I pulled them out and set them on a drying rack. (the ones I didn't just eat). Gonna freeze most of them and then pull them out and saute them in butter before serving them up for the family at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I ended up adding a good bit more flour to be able to roll this dough out. It was sticky. Once I got it the way I wanted it, they did turn out good but huge. I think next time I will skip the baking powder as the other recipes I know to be good don't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Worked out perfectly and with that great authentic taste! I had a few people try and their eyes opening wide with the first bite told me all that I needed to know - wow factor! Thanks so much for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States