Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. After I made them, my friends came over and ate ALL of them while saying how good they were. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The dough turns out too wet. Does not matter how much more flour is added it is still to pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I tried my best to make them and it was an epic fail. I won't bother making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
After frying them up, try drizzling honey over top, sprinkle some salt and dip in sour cream (that is the potato filled ones, not the kraut ones) Its the best way to eat these wonderful little dumplings, in my opinion!! Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I'm part polish and decided to make these for Christmas Eve dinner to surprise my family instead of buying the store bought ones. They were awful, I was mortified. I'll keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Tasted amazing! I wanted to post a review to add a few tips for the few people that this recipe did not work for. It would be a shame to set it in the toss pile and never attempt it again. 1) The dough is delicate, I used my kitchen aid dough hook, but when the dough got a bit sticky I added about 1/2 cup of flour 2) When you are rolling out on the counter, be liberal with the flour on the counter and on the dough surface 3) When you cut your rounds, make the dough a little thicker (when you add the filling, you will stretch out the dough a little more) 4) flour your rounds on both sides and stack them on a plate, if you refrigerate your rounds for a few hours they will be easy to work with. 5) Make sure your filling has no juice! If you use the sauerkraut recipe add a bit of mashed potato to pull it together and drain and fry the sauerkraut for a few mins to boil away all of the leftover juice. 6) When making the mashed potatoes it helps to almost over whip them so they start to become a bit "gummy", not too much, but enough so you can make balls out of the mixture 7) If the pierogi "looks" sealed but you didn't fold it over or use a fork to bind it, it will probably come apart in the boiling water. 8) drop the pierogi's 1 at a time into the boiling water so they cook for a few seconds before the next is dropped in, this stops them from sticking together, I found that 2 mins of boiling was sufficient, and I fried them after. These turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made an account just to rate this recipe. I only used the dough portion because I made my filling out of turnips but it was amazing! To those saying that the dough was sticky must have done something wrong. It was absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Excellent. Add dill to make dillicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very easy and slightly time consuming however worth the time.My first few peirogi were inconsistently thick. After thinking for a second I realize the similarity of the dough to a pasta dough so I whipped out the pasta roller. Simply brilliant! rolled the dough to a 4 setting then cut it. EASY and consistent. I also just sauteed some diced cabbage and carrots for our filling as the sauerkraut is not accepted in my house. The sauteing after boiling adds the perfect texture. We make more after use the frozen left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I love the pierogi dough recipe. This now replaces my dough recipe that I have made for years. It is abit wet at the start but once you roll it out with flour it handles beautifully. I fried some bacon (5 pieces with the onions when I made the sauerkraut perogies. I also added sharp cheddar (4 oz) and 1/4 cup sour cream to the potato filling. All in all an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States