Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Being Polish, and born in Poland, I have had many pierogi's in my day. After many disappointing pierogi meals, I came across this recipe...and all I can say is YUM! My kids (who do not care for dad's food preferences) inhaled these and asked for more. Great recipe -Dziekujemy! All this talk about Pierogi's is making me hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
My Grandma made the best Pierogi's ever. She took her secrets w/ her to the grave. I never thought that I would ever taste another Pierogi that could rival my Grandmothers, until this recipe! My family loved them and it was worth the time taken to make them. I think this will be one recipe that will be my family's "secret"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I have had many pierogi's but none better than these. This recipe ensures that the Peirogi's are moist and definitely is the traditional Polish pierogi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Gave this 5 stars for the dough. Used my own filling. This dough was exactly what I was looking for. Let the dough sit for 10 to 15 minutes before rolling. I use my pasta machine to roll out the dough. I use a wide rim glass or mug to cut out pierogi. SOOOOOO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Over 2 hours of work and all I ended up eating was my left over mashed potatoes. I followed this recipe to the letter, and the finished product was gooey and tasteless and slimy. At least half of them broke in the water and leaked filling. I would be willing to try this recipe again if there were another cooking method. Can you bake these? Boiling produced such a mess; not sure where I went wrong on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I have been trying to duplicate the ones made by a friends grandmother and these are by far the best! You have made my husband very happy! I make a big batch, freeze some on a baking sheet and then bag them up for later use. Boil them from frozen state and perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollybear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
These are very good. When my husband was alive he made a "old counry" version with a mixture of seasoned hamburger, onion, beaten egg mixed will and placed inside the dough. He boiled them and then we would lightly brown the dough in a greased cast iron skillet after they had cooled from the boiling procedure. Serve them up with sour cream if desired. Not low on calories but a delicious version of the Pierogi with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Time consuming but well worth it. I've never made these from scratch before, but found it to be quite easy and the end product was delicious. Just make sure you seal the dough with water and a fork or else you will have a mess when you go to boil them. Finish them off by frying them in a little butter to make them crispy and serve with onions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very good! Can freeze and then boil off later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
OMG! This is a must have dish when my friends and I go to Poland to buy Polish pottery. We actually were in Poland in 2 weeks ago. We always stop and have Pierogis at least once. This time we actually had the hotel where we stayed at make us some fresh pierogis to take home. We each brought back a batch that was stuffed with cheese and potatos and another batch was stuffed with pork. Yum-Yum! Family loved them. This recipe is great! Very easy if you have a pampered chef cut and seal. It does it all in one step. I prefer the small cut and seal for pierogis. Once they are all made I boil them first, then drain very well... then pan fry in a little butter. I cook onions on the side for those who want to add them. However in Poland I have never had them pan fried. My order has never come fried. I do like pan fried pierogis a little better. My favorite stuffing I think is still the potato and cheese. BUT !!!! This one is also very good. Definitely worth trying. The stuffing option is endless.... The thought of pierogis makes me want to plan another shopping trip soon. YIKES! Thanks! for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States