Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe gives me a new appreciation for Polish grandmas. I'm not Polish but I LOVE pierogies and I wanted to try to make them myself. I give this recipe 5 stars because it is an excellent recipes but pierogies are way too time consuming for me, so I will see if my boyfriend's grandma will make this recipe for me the next time. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I've always avoided making homemade pierogi because I was afraid to work with the dough. These rolled out very nicely! I made a potato, cheddar & onion filling. Delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I really like this recipe. Though I do have a tip for some people. Don't cook the perogies right away. Seal them up and then freeze them for two days. It lets them bind and are less likely to open up when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
The dough tasted like I remember my Polish grandmother used to make, however the potato stuffing wasn't quite the way I remembered it though it was quite good. My daughter even said they tasted better than the store bought ones. Very time consuming. My grandmother used to make large ones, so after rolling out and cutting several 3 inch circles I decided to pull individual balls of dough and roll them out separately...this worked great. All in all it's a good recipe...it just needs some tweaking based on individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Time consuming, but so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly A.
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My grandmother always used to make these for special occasions. We always fry in a little bacon grease after boiling, and serve with crispy bacon. oh, so good! I added cheddar cheese and garlic in the mashed potatoes. For those whose leaked into the water, the dough needs to be the right consistancy. When sealing, wet just the inside edges that you are pressing together to make it stick. if more of the dough than that gets wet, it may get too stretchy and break open. I had a hard time with the sauerkraut filling till I mixed a little mashed potatoes with it b/f stuffing. Then all was well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Very yummy! Had some dough left so I used it with banana. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camila T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I thought these were okay. The dough was very sticky, a little to hard to work with so I had to add a lot more flour to be able to handle it. The final taste was pretty bland. We don't like sourkraut so I just used the potato. The kids had a ton of fun making these but wouldn't eat them. If I make again, I will add something a little more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Didn't use the filling recipe, but the dough recipe was amazing. First time making pierogies and definitely will again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States