Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The recipe printed in columns and I missed that there are two different fillings. I made one big batch of combined filling (wondered for a moment at the onions on there twice... evidently not long enough). It was fantastic! The combination of potato AND sauerkraut turned out so tasty! The dough was wonderful to work with (I ran it through my Kitchenaid pasta roller) and had a perfect texture. This recipe is going in my permanent file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
You need to add flour until the dough no longer sticks to your fingers. Do NOT roll to 1/8" thick, the finished Pierogis will be 1/4" thick!! Roll as thin as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
So easy! I used my kitchenaid for the dough and instant mashed for the filling so the only time consuming part was filling the dough. I'm going to experiment with different fillings like bacon and cheese, mushroom, maybe even raspberry ricotta or something for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN DOWNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Only used the dough and did our own thing for the filling, but the dough was great. Excellent texture, easy to roll out nice and thin, and then perfect and delicate when eating. Way better than that mooshy potato dough of commercial perogies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very good! Can freeze and then boil off later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this recipe for a Superbowl party. Being the only Steelers fan I felt the need to bring something Pittsburgh-style. I made them ahead of time, sauteed in butter/onions, and poured it all into a crock pot with a little extra butter. The were pretty much gone by the end of the first quarter. Nothing but compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
i used half the amount of filling. Boil for 5 then drain and pan fry the best!..Alot of work though! NOTE: dough is sticky! needed extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
My first time making pierogi from scratch! I remember eating these when I was a kid. Made them for my family and they loved them! I think I rolled the dough a little thick-- I will fix that next time. Otherwise they were great! Instead of a Sauerkraut filling (my family doesn't like) I made a potato and cabbage combo- Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Made these over the holidays. The dough was very easy to work with. The only thing I changed was instead of the sauerkraut filling, I used a sweet potato, apple and bacon filling. Talk about delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I found this to be a very good base recipe for pierogi - I especially like the sour cream in the dough. I had previously used my pasta recipe that I use for ravioli but this one seems more tender. One note - I had to add an extra cup or so of flour to get this dough through my pasta roller. I used the potato filling with the following changes: I used 2 shallots instead of onion and added 1c of shredded cheddar cheese. It was an accomplishment not to eat this straight out of the bowl. Things I do differently with the assembly: I use a small cookie scoop to scoop the filling, then shape it with my fingers. I wet the edge of the dough with my finger, then press to seal. Once I've done this with a batch (about 12), I crimp all the edges with a fork then put in salted boiling water. Once they're all in, I stir once, boil for 1min, remove with a spider skimmer and place on a plate. Once they cool a little, I brush with butter and place in a tupperware to freeze or cook immediately. When I'm ready to eat them, I run it in the microwave to melt the butter and then pull out the ones I want. I then pan fry til golden brown. If I've just made them, I just pan fry. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States