Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe has a perfect dough and a good potato filling. I made my own fillings with different fruits for desert pierogi and a different potato recipe, but the fillings here look good too. My only suggestion is that you flip over the pierogi as they cook in the water, it lets the dough become tougher and seal to itself better. Some reviewers complained that their pierogi leaked or popped open, and having a good seal with proper boiling treatment will help to keep them from breaking open. Like many reviewers, I also pan fry mine for a few moments to brown them after they boil. I will try deep frying them to see how the dough reacts (like many Philadelphia pierogi are made).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
best dough yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Too much pepper and the potatoes should be whipped, mashed isn't the right texture. Allow 3 hours! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Rating for dough: Great recipe, dough turned out well, nice and tender. I used a different filling, so can't rate. Btw, they turn out surprisingly well when baked too, slightly bready--though fill well seasoned/sauced meat may be best if you bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
great, easy dough. After boiling the pierogies, we put them all on a plate, and they stuck together in one big mass. Tasted great, but looked horrible. Fried it up in one big mass and cut it like a pie. Need to keep them separate as they cool after boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I had a hard time with the dough and ended up adding an extra cup of flour so I could roll it with out it sticking to everything. At first I thought I might have made a mistake when measuring the flour but I made a second batch to us up all my leftover mashed potatoes and had to add a lot of flour to that batch too... That being said the pierogis came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Love this dough! It's easy & rolls beautifully. I just made 3 batches in a row and not one problem. The other dough recipe I used to use was very unpredictable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe is great. I did add some cheddar cheese to the potato filling because that is how I've been taught to make it. I was happy with the way everything turned out. If you have never made pierogi before, know this: The recipe doesn't mention that you need to add lots of flour as you knead the dough and as you pinch the pierogi together. I mean add a lottt. Otherwise the dough will be difficult to work with. As most reviewers said, to be fully appreciated pierogi are best pan fried, and served with some carmelized onions on the side. So, once you are done boiling them as directed heat some butter in a pan and brown them on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Don't know what I did wrong.?? they taste doughy.?? Followed it too a T. Can anyone think what I might of did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
just like moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States