Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I really enjoyed these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Awesome.. I have done two batches The first I did was the potatoes and cheddar cheese filling which I have done before but this time I added bacon bits.. YUMMY.. I just got done doing a batch of the kraut filing.. it turned out great as well.. tomorrow is the potatoes and onion filling. I been putting them all in the freezer as I make the batches up. This is the best dough I have ever made for pierogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Love these! Simple recipe for the dough, and turns out wonderful. This recipe also made me 100 pierogies! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by modestxliving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These are awesome. Exactly what i hoped for and expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is more a 3.5, but didn't want to give it the lower 3 stars. THis was my first attempt at making pierogies.. the only difficulty I had was rolling out the dough. As for the filling, I like sauerkraut, but I did not like this filling at all. I ended up tossing it out and using the potato filling. And there was plenty of filling left. I used a piroshky/dumpling crimper to seal. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I've seen other recipes like this one, and they only called for 1 egg and 1/4 c of sour cream, but I figured "how can 165 people be wrong" so I gave it a go... I don't know how the other 165 people managed to make pierogies out of this, but after following the recipe to a tee, I was left with a goopy mess. I started adding 1 tbsp of flour at a time, until, 2 extra cups of flour later, I gave up. I *still* wasn't able to get it smooth enough to roll out. I'm now scraping the gooey remains off my countertop and looking for a recipe with less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve Schiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe has a perfect dough and a good potato filling. I made my own fillings with different fruits for desert pierogi and a different potato recipe, but the fillings here look good too. My only suggestion is that you flip over the pierogi as they cook in the water, it lets the dough become tougher and seal to itself better. Some reviewers complained that their pierogi leaked or popped open, and having a good seal with proper boiling treatment will help to keep them from breaking open. Like many reviewers, I also pan fry mine for a few moments to brown them after they boil. I will try deep frying them to see how the dough reacts (like many Philadelphia pierogi are made).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
best dough yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Too much pepper and the potatoes should be whipped, mashed isn't the right texture. Allow 3 hours! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Rating for dough: Great recipe, dough turned out well, nice and tender. I used a different filling, so can't rate. Btw, they turn out surprisingly well when baked too, slightly bready--though fill well seasoned/sauced meat may be best if you bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States