Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PrincessMel
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I served these to my husband and his friends and they LOVED them! Both fillings were a huge hit and I think next time I'll try some of my own fillings, such as cheddar or maybe cottage cheese. The only thing I didn't like was that they at least doubled in size after boiling, which made them HUGE. I think maybe I didn't stretch the dough enough... Not sure. I didn't actually find them as time consuming, compared to what I was expecting. But they took a good hour to make and cook (after pre-making the filling). This time I doubled, next time I will at least quadruple the recipe because we have a stand up freezer and can do stuff like that :D Enjoy everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My attempt was certainly not ready in 1 hr 40 mins as the sidebar indicates - but they were really, really good. I mixed the potato and kraut fillings together and filled the entire batch with that mixture - YUMMM. That mixture was good on its own and is going to be served as a side dish another time. Served the pierogies with sour cream, and also a sour cream horseradish mixture. Next time I will break it up into smaller chunks: make the fillings the first day; prepare the dough and assemble them the next day, freezing on a sheet pan after boiling & drying; and when needed, take them out to fry and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This takes some times, but it's worth it. I like both types in this recipe, but the sauerkraut ones were certainly more popular with my family, so I may just skip the potato ones next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. After I made them, my friends came over and ate ALL of them while saying how good they were. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The dough turns out too wet. Does not matter how much more flour is added it is still to pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I tried my best to make them and it was an epic fail. I won't bother making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
After frying them up, try drizzling honey over top, sprinkle some salt and dip in sour cream (that is the potato filled ones, not the kraut ones) Its the best way to eat these wonderful little dumplings, in my opinion!! Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I'm part polish and decided to make these for Christmas Eve dinner to surprise my family instead of buying the store bought ones. They were awful, I was mortified. I'll keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Tasted amazing! I wanted to post a review to add a few tips for the few people that this recipe did not work for. It would be a shame to set it in the toss pile and never attempt it again. 1) The dough is delicate, I used my kitchen aid dough hook, but when the dough got a bit sticky I added about 1/2 cup of flour 2) When you are rolling out on the counter, be liberal with the flour on the counter and on the dough surface 3) When you cut your rounds, make the dough a little thicker (when you add the filling, you will stretch out the dough a little more) 4) flour your rounds on both sides and stack them on a plate, if you refrigerate your rounds for a few hours they will be easy to work with. 5) Make sure your filling has no juice! If you use the sauerkraut recipe add a bit of mashed potato to pull it together and drain and fry the sauerkraut for a few mins to boil away all of the leftover juice. 6) When making the mashed potatoes it helps to almost over whip them so they start to become a bit "gummy", not too much, but enough so you can make balls out of the mixture 7) If the pierogi "looks" sealed but you didn't fold it over or use a fork to bind it, it will probably come apart in the boiling water. 8) drop the pierogi's 1 at a time into the boiling water so they cook for a few seconds before the next is dropped in, this stops them from sticking together, I found that 2 mins of boiling was sufficient, and I fried them after. These turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made an account just to rate this recipe. I only used the dough portion because I made my filling out of turnips but it was amazing! To those saying that the dough was sticky must have done something wrong. It was absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States