Pickled Eggs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Took Liane's advice and used apple cider, 2 tsp salt and 1/3 cup of sugar. I also dropped the bay leaf and used about 6 cloves of garlic. I've made the recipe a few times at this point and tried re-using the pickle juice with mixed results so I'd recommend creating new pickle juice every time. I now use 18 eggs instead of 12 and find it works out fine which helps stretch the recipe a bit. One hint: use eggs that are at least a few days old. Fresh ones are very very hard to peel and result in all sorts of divots and unappealing gouges. Older eggs peel much more easily. I know it sounds weird that you wouldn't want fresh eggs but trust me, you don't! Warning: the eggs go fast! And we can never wait 8 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were very good. Almost like the pickled eggs from our local deli, but just seemed like they were missing something. Can't quite identify what, but something. I will keep using this recipe though, and maybe see if I can tweak it and find what's missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLCHIPMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Made these yesterday. I can't wait for 10 days to pass. Let ya'll know how they turned out and what I did differant.Not sure what to rate it yet, but i will come back and rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Did not like the pickling spice at all. Helped the recipe out by adding jalapenos and red chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayzilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
not bad, just not what i was looking for. they had a very mild taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I had never made pickled eggs before, so when I found this recipe without beets (my husband HATES them), I said a little prayer that these would be good. I needn't have worried. He sneaked an egg out of the first batch before they were ready and informed me that I had better be planning another batch. He shared a fully-aged jar with a neighbor, and word spread. I have people wanting to pay me for these because they're so good (but I don't charge). We think they're better than the ones we can get in the supermarket. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This a great recipe --I have tried it and got good results and comments--thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe isn't what I thought it would be. I will try other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I think this recipe is fantastic just the way it is! I've made these at least 30 times and share with the neighbors and I have nothing to change at all. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascoag, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I have also added gloves of garlic sliced in half. My husbands deer gange rave about these every year. I make 6 dozen at a time for there event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIVERTOWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States