Pickled Eggs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just like my Mom used to make.....soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I didn't have the recipe in front of me so I kinda winged it. I didn't exactly sterilize the jars and lids. I put one tablespoon of pickling spice in each jar along work a bay leaf in each and used about a teaspoon of pickling salt in each jar. About a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar was convenient. Three weeks later they turned out to be the best (and strongest flavoured) pickled eggs ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love pickled eggs. Always wanted a recipe. I bought some jalepeno eggs from the Amish and decided to make my own. Didn't change a thing to the recipe except added hot peppers and a dash of red pepper flakes. Wonderful easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
To anyone who tries this please remember that newer eggs are harder than heck to peel...buy your eggs at least a week in advance then pickle on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I love this recipe!! We like eggs a little tart and spicy so I added a few peppercorns and a pinch of crushed red peppers and a few sliced onions. Also, I did not add the sugar. We just opened the first jar after 9 days!!! Wonderful!! Can't wait for my kids to try them!! Josie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Took Liane's advice and used apple cider, 2 tsp salt and 1/3 cup of sugar. I also dropped the bay leaf and used about 6 cloves of garlic. I've made the recipe a few times at this point and tried re-using the pickle juice with mixed results so I'd recommend creating new pickle juice every time. I now use 18 eggs instead of 12 and find it works out fine which helps stretch the recipe a bit. One hint: use eggs that are at least a few days old. Fresh ones are very very hard to peel and result in all sorts of divots and unappealing gouges. Older eggs peel much more easily. I know it sounds weird that you wouldn't want fresh eggs but trust me, you don't! Warning: the eggs go fast! And we can never wait 8 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were very good. Almost like the pickled eggs from our local deli, but just seemed like they were missing something. Can't quite identify what, but something. I will keep using this recipe though, and maybe see if I can tweak it and find what's missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLCHIPMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Made these yesterday. I can't wait for 10 days to pass. Let ya'll know how they turned out and what I did differant.Not sure what to rate it yet, but i will come back and rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Did not like the pickling spice at all. Helped the recipe out by adding jalapenos and red chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayzilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
not bad, just not what i was looking for. they had a very mild taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States