Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was a fantastic recipe! Everyone needs to try this at least once! I made it for my family and I am only 16 year old and I could do this easily. Very user friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved it, family loved it, better than the Chinese takeout we get. Will definitely make it again. I used peanut oil instead of olive oil. Other than that I kept everything that the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Delicious, my children loved it. They ask me to cook this dish on a regular basis. Thank you for sharing. -Maritza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Always my go-to Chinese food recipe. I dust the chicken pieces in extra flour and cornstarch before dropping them in to fry to make the pieces extra crispy. The chicken pieces also freeze really well for future quick dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I am just beginning to start cooking and found this recipe to be pretty helpful. HOWEVER! I changed up the recipe a bit. Instead of battering and frying the chicken, I used frozen chicken nuggets. (The breading helps the sauce stick to the chicken) As far as the sauce goes, I recomend using 3/4 cup of sugar, otherwise it's way too sweet. I also don't normally have chile paste lying around so I substituted the chile paste with a little less than a teaspoon of Masaman Curry Paste. (It comes in a blue container, I don't remember where it's from. The label said "Bright") Make sure all the ingredients are thoroughly mixed before you add the cornstarch that's dissolved in water. Then when the sauce and chicken are both done cooking, put all the chicken in a large bowl, pour the sauce on top of them and stir gently with a wooden spoon until all the chicken is covered with sauce. This recipe is best served over white or fried rice with a side of egg drop soup. :) I made it for my boyfriend, who's a picky eater, and he liked it a lot. It makes for a really good, relatively cheap dinner. (as compared to the price of take out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe though I made a few changes: 1. I used flour instead of cornstarch for the sauce. I first made it with cornstarch and it had a disgusting consistency and a weird after-taste. I usually don't like cornstarch anyway and can taste it when it's in something. Two tablespoons of all-purpose flour worked just fine - I whisked it into the boiling sauce. 2. I added more garlic to the sauce and some fresh minced ginger. I would actually try adding even more garlic next time. Some people said the sauce was flat. I would suggest trying these things (including the flour instead of cornstarch). 3. I actually preferred the chicken when it was more brown and crispy. This required really hot fat. I don't know what temp though as don't have a thermometer or digital fryer. 4. I used less sugar than the recipe says for the sauce. Instead I used 1/2 cup of sugar and a 1/4 cup honey. Brown sugar might be even nicer than white. I'll try that next time. I also used normal soy sauce. 5. I used organic chicken. Much better than non-organic. Tastes cleaner, fresher, and less fatty. 6. Could do with some suggestions for what veg to serve this with. An asian broccoli side would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I just reviewed this recipe and forgot to say to reduce the amount of sugar. I guess to your taste. The amt in recipe is too much as many have already stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
My husband requests this meal frequently. After making way too much sauce the first time, I found that the sauce freezes really well and will easily thaw out for the next time. Now I intentionally double or triple the recipe for the sauce and only make enough chicken for two of us and have enough sauce frozen so that I can skip that step the next time it is requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYMG3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Utterly amazing recipe. I cannot find this dish since moving to Britain, and now don't have to wait until my visits to the states to enjoy it. I subsituted the flour for gluten free flour for my daughter. I omitted the sherry and baking soda, as I didn't have either on hand. However, even with this, it was still fabulous. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This came out awesome. I didn't use a whole pound of chicken b/c I was only cooking for two and had a ton of the sauce left over. I would make less of that next time. Also while cooking it doesn't smell amazing but it comes out great. Definitely doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States