Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time I baked the chicken as other reviewers recommended and had a HUGE mess in the kitchen. The chicken flavor was good baked but the cleanup was a nightmare. So the second time I fried the chicken and the recipe turned out much better. Sometimes you just have to enjoy the extra calories from frying and cut back calories somewhere else. I followed the recipe to the letter both times. I think the next time I will back down on the sugar maybe by half and switch to brown sugar from Zulka sugar (dehydrated cane juice sugar). I love the texture of the breading so much that I plan to use this recipe for breading fish (minus the soy sauce) in other recipes. The chicken breading is so light and crispy that it's ideal to use in other ways. I do plan to add this into long term meal rotation (since it's fried I can't put it in very often). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made according to recipe and it was very tasty. Next-time I make this dish, I will add less cornstarch in the sauce because it was a bit too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner and it was a lot of work for the outcome. After reading reviews, I decided to use half the sugar, and half the sesame oil. I also used half of the cornstarch slurry. The sauce came out good, but what disappointed me was the chicken breading. I was expecting a thicker crispy batter. This was very thin, and not very flavourful. I might try this again and play around with the batter a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My kids said, "Mom you have to make this more often". That kind of says it all!! The only variation is I fried the chicken in vegetable oil, not olive oil. Will make this again and again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I only used a half cup of sugar, it came out excellent the kids loved it! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
It was very good if you follow the ingredients. First time making this type of chicken. I just fried the chicken in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Not quite sure what went wrong, but the chicken came out really funny tasting. The actual sauce was great, so we just ate it over rice. I don't think I'll attempt it again. Disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This recipe was awesome and easy to make. I didn't have chicken and just made the sauce with broccoli and rice. I didn't have chili paste, just chili powder and used the same amount, and it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenSchulz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is so good. The sauce this makes is fantastic. I would recommend using this and making all kinds of sesame dishes - shrimp, pork, whatever. Serve with jasmine rice and sugar snap peas. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
OH EM GEEEEEE!!! WONDERFUL WONDERFUL!! THIS RECIPE ROCKS!! IT TASTES JUST AS GOOD AS OUR LOCAL TAKE OUT PLACE!! MY VERY PICKY 15 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER ACTUALLY COMPLIMENTED HOW YUMMY IT WAS!! I DID HALF THE SUGAR AND IT WAS PLENTY SWEET!! OH THIS WILL BE ADDED TO OUR DINNER ROTATIONS!! SERVED IT OVER FRIED RICE!! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States