Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by EmmieYum
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
One food I miss from the States is Chinese sesame chicken. This was the first recipe I have ever tried and wow am I impressed. I followed the video on this and only used 3/4 cup of sugar. I didn't have sherry, so left that out. The sauce was gorgeous! It was that perfect sticky consistency like you'd get from a take away. I need to find an equally as good fried rice recipe and I'll be sorted. I served along side some prawn crackers and sweet chilli dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmieYum

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
could halve the recipe for the sauce and it would still be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this for the 100+ students and they couldn't get enough. Made this recipe for 150 had to make some adjustments. Will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Loved this recipe!! My husband loved it, too, and he is very picky. I did make a few alterations. I followed the first review and halved the sugar. It turned out plenty sweet enough but I think next time I may even try using 1/4 cup sugar to make it a bit healthier. I think it would be just as good. I also chose not to deep fry it but rather baked it in the oven as the first review suggested and it turned out perfectly after 45 minutes at 375 degrees. I may try stir frying it in a wok next time to achieve some degree of crispiness. I didn't have corn starch on hand so I omitted it from the first step and used four mixed with water for the second step and it turned out just fine. I also used organic boneless skinless chicken thighs cubed in place of breast meat. All in all, a really scrumptious dinner served over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I've been looking for a sesame chicken recipe for awhile now and I finally found it! After reading some of the reviews I cut the sugar to 1/2 a cup instead of a full cup. When I make this again I will add more sugar but not the full cup. I'd say that kind of depends on personal preference more than anything! The sauce came out a little thicker than I would like. I would recommend less cornstarch and water I think maybe 1/2 of what it says would be better. Also, instead of deep frying the chicken I pan fried it instead and it still turned out great. Will for sure be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good! Lots of work so would next time prepare chicken much earlier and let marinade. Also used canola oil better because it's better suited for high temp. This was as good if not better than anything we've had from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have a corn and wheat allergy so this is what I did.... Mmmm.... I boiled a chicken and just shredded the meat to use instead of frying meat. I used the broth from it also. I substituted equal parts tapioca starch for the corn starch, omitted the chili paste, used regular soy sauce, garlic powder instead of garlic, added the sherry it called for into the sauce. I used only half the sugar it called for and I used "sugar in the raw." I also added chopped green onions to it and served it over cooked, riced cauliflower.) Yum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
very good! we changed the recipe a little, used brown sugar and less cornstarch. we also skipped the wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This turned out to be one of the best tasting chicken recipes I've ever made. It was a bit labor intensive, but so worth it once you put that first piece of sweet sesame chicken in your mouth. I followed the recipe just as written, except didn't use a quart of oil, I only used about a cup and half, and probably could have used a bit less. I added in the cornstarch slurry just until it reached the thickness I desired, but that was almost the whole amount. I was leery of the amount of sugar, but it was "perfect" for us. I served with Lo Mein Noodles from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was amazing. Tasted better than a restaurant and I'm a terrible cook. I didn't have chili paste so I used sriracha. I also had 2 extra large chicken breasts and doubled the entire recipe. Next time I will only double the batter and use 1/2 the sugar in the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States