Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I have prepared this twice. The first was a test run. I used mostly what I had on hand so I made a couple of minor changes. I used vegetable oil to fry, I used half white and half brown sugar, regular soy sauce, and not being able to find anything that was labled chili paste, I tried Thai red curry paste which has a few other ingredients added to the chili including lemongrass and ginger. Other than that, I followed the recipe. My family loved it! A couple of weeks later I made it again for a house full of teen girls. I tripled the recipe and the girls helped prepare. This time the chicken spent over an hour in the batter and it was even better. Every plate was cleaned. Served with some Jasmine rice and steamed broccoli, you can't go wrong with this one. After reading several reviews, I'm going to try making it next time with rice vinegar but this is my go-to recipe for sesame chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This really is the best sesame chicken ever! I love sesame chicken and I eat it at restaurants all the time, and this one is way better. It is amazing! The chicken was tender and crispy and the sauce was delicious. I only added about half the sugar probably. So so good! My new favorite recipe for sure! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
No substitutes. Taste better than take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
On the advice of other reviewers, I cut the sugar to 1/4c. of brown sugar and that was plenty. I also added a splash of Shaoxing wine and some rice vinegar. The flavor overall was good, however the chicken lost all of its crispiness once tossed with the sauce. Overall fairly tasty and a good point to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Morrow
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I used tofu and vegetable broth instead of chicken. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Morrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Delicious! I started my rice cooking at the same time as the chicken and dinner was ready in less than thirty minutes. Serve it with stir fried veggies and the restaurant style egg drop soup from this site and you'll never need take out again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have to say, this "Perfect Sesame Chicken", was mouth watering. I love it. It was just the right flavor and seasoning. My family enjoyed it, and I didn't take away or add no other ingredients. I wouldn't change anything. I rate this recipe 5 stars *****. Thanks- Juanita Williams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronwood, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is was good! I baked the chicken for 47 minutes at 375F and poured a bit of grape seed oil over the top before going in. It was moist and delicious! Next time I will not pour any oil over the top, there was no crust on my chicken and I had to blot off a lot of oil. I made the sauce as is, and it gets super thick. Next time I won't use as much cornstarch and less sugar. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandacakes108
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
We loved this!! It is quite possibly the best sesame chicken I've ever had. I am a sauce person and with 2 pounds of chicken there was just enough sauce. There is no need to double the recipe, in fact, I think you can halve it if you are really only doing 1 pound. I did cut the sugar down to 3/4 of a cup and use rice vinegar in place of white vinegar and only used 1 Tablespoon of sesame oil. If you are not putting spicy chili paste in your sauce the sugar will be overwhelming and you may need to go even lower, it is the balance of sweet and spicy that in my opinion was so great in this recipe. I also only needed about 1/2 the cornstarch mixture to get my sauce to the thickness I wanted. It thickens quickly so just add a little at a time until it is what you want. It sits very nicely on a back burner on low waiting for you. Thank you soooo much Doreen for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States