Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I loved it! I didn't have sherry or chile paste but it still turns out delicious. I cut down the sugar to 1/4 cup like some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy Gagnon
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I love this...have made it before...perfect! today even when I didn't have enough cornstarch it still was really really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nida Naeem
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Tried this great recipe today, just substituted 1 tbsp of orange juice & a drop of vanilla extract for sherry. I have to agree with others it was a little too sweet so next time I will cut the sugar measurement into half, for the sauce I nly used 2 tbsp of cornstarch to thicken the mixture otherwise it would have been too thick and after frying the chicken I also dumped it into the sauce. Anyway, good recipe with a few modifications, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nida Naeem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
The sauce turned out pretty good. I used a little too much of the cornstarch slurry though--next time I won't use all of it. Since I didn't have dark soy sauce on hand, I used regular soy sauce and added one green onion (whole) and a handful of mushrooms to the sauce as it boiled. I then removed the mushrooms and green onion before I added the cornstarch mixture. It helped the flavor quite a bit. Also, I subbed brown sugar for white (only 1/3 cup), it helped with the coloring. I also baked mine at 375 for 40 minutes as emilyjane928 suggested. Turned out to be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nakomiKF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Just made this for the first time. I didn't have any chicken, so I used a cubed pork chop. The coating was amazing, and the sauce was truly delicious. The name suits this one. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was delicious and easy. I tripled it to take to a chinese theme community supper and it was the first one gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This sesame chicken was very tasty, but I agree with some reviewers that the sauce is too sweet and thick. I used 3/4 of the sugar indicated in the recipe (and 50% more vinegar) and my family found it to be too sweet (and we love sesame chicken). The deep fried chicken, by itself, is outstanding. I think the sauce would benefit from a few tweaks, such as less sugar, more soy sauce and vinegar, less cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Excellent. The only change I made was adding a bit of rice flour since I had more than 1 lb of chicken and was concerned that I might not have enough batter to cover it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States