Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
No substitutes. Taste better than take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
On the advice of other reviewers, I cut the sugar to 1/4c. of brown sugar and that was plenty. I also added a splash of Shaoxing wine and some rice vinegar. The flavor overall was good, however the chicken lost all of its crispiness once tossed with the sauce. Overall fairly tasty and a good point to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Morrow
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I used tofu and vegetable broth instead of chicken. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Morrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Delicious! I started my rice cooking at the same time as the chicken and dinner was ready in less than thirty minutes. Serve it with stir fried veggies and the restaurant style egg drop soup from this site and you'll never need take out again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have to say, this "Perfect Sesame Chicken", was mouth watering. I love it. It was just the right flavor and seasoning. My family enjoyed it, and I didn't take away or add no other ingredients. I wouldn't change anything. I rate this recipe 5 stars *****. Thanks- Juanita Williams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronwood, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is was good! I baked the chicken for 47 minutes at 375F and poured a bit of grape seed oil over the top before going in. It was moist and delicious! Next time I will not pour any oil over the top, there was no crust on my chicken and I had to blot off a lot of oil. I made the sauce as is, and it gets super thick. Next time I won't use as much cornstarch and less sugar. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
We loved this!! It is quite possibly the best sesame chicken I've ever had. I am a sauce person and with 2 pounds of chicken there was just enough sauce. There is no need to double the recipe, in fact, I think you can halve it if you are really only doing 1 pound. I did cut the sugar down to 3/4 of a cup and use rice vinegar in place of white vinegar and only used 1 Tablespoon of sesame oil. If you are not putting spicy chili paste in your sauce the sugar will be overwhelming and you may need to go even lower, it is the balance of sweet and spicy that in my opinion was so great in this recipe. I also only needed about 1/2 the cornstarch mixture to get my sauce to the thickness I wanted. It thickens quickly so just add a little at a time until it is what you want. It sits very nicely on a back burner on low waiting for you. Thank you soooo much Doreen for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I just sauteed the chicken, rather than deep fried it. I used 1/4 cup of sugar, and it was fantastic! I couldn't believe how quickly it was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Hubs & I thought the was good, not great. Our son however, absolutely loved it. I always try to make a recipe as written the first time, as I see that as the only fair way to rate something. That said, I did change the amount of sugar right off the bat - 1C just looked like way too much for the amount of liquid so I reduced it by half, figuring I could always add more if need be. Also, I made the slurry as written, but found that I didn't need to use it all. My sauce tightened up almost immediately with roughly 1/2 of the mixture. I followed all other sauce measurements, then tasted in order to assess flavor. Wow - was it sweet! If I ever made this again, I would cut the sugar even more, 1/3 or even 1/4C would probably be enough. I also found it a bit bland outside of the sweetness. Prior to serving, I added 2 tblsp rice vinegar & 2 additional tblsp soy which we felt perked it up nicely. The chicken itself was quite good - it fries up nicely with this batter, which is not too heavy. It came out tender and juicy with a light crisp. Overall, I'd make this again - with the changes mentioned it becomes more of a 4-star dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States