Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I just sauteed the chicken, rather than deep fried it. I used 1/4 cup of sugar, and it was fantastic! I couldn't believe how quickly it was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Hubs & I thought the was good, not great. Our son however, absolutely loved it. I always try to make a recipe as written the first time, as I see that as the only fair way to rate something. That said, I did change the amount of sugar right off the bat - 1C just looked like way too much for the amount of liquid so I reduced it by half, figuring I could always add more if need be. Also, I made the slurry as written, but found that I didn't need to use it all. My sauce tightened up almost immediately with roughly 1/2 of the mixture. I followed all other sauce measurements, then tasted in order to assess flavor. Wow - was it sweet! If I ever made this again, I would cut the sugar even more, 1/3 or even 1/4C would probably be enough. I also found it a bit bland outside of the sweetness. Prior to serving, I added 2 tblsp rice vinegar & 2 additional tblsp soy which we felt perked it up nicely. The chicken itself was quite good - it fries up nicely with this batter, which is not too heavy. It came out tender and juicy with a light crisp. Overall, I'd make this again - with the changes mentioned it becomes more of a 4-star dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe if you are looking for a chinese food sesame chicken. Add less corn starch than the 1/4 cup then work your way up if you need more.. I did a couple tbsps of corn starch and that actually was enough. I doubled the sauce, the batter, and the chicken and it was perfect. Will be making it again. Had visitors over for dinner and it was all gone within 15 mins! should have made more! served it with broccoli and jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is the best sesame seed chicken I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've always loved sesame chicken at restaurants and this was even BETTER!! The chicken was moist and melted in your mouth. I disagree with other reviews, it is NOT too sweet. It's perfect! I did double the sauce and was so glad I did. It covered the chicken and broccoli. I want to make the chicken alone and use it in a salad with a toasted sesame dressing for a light fare this summer. The batter was delish!! I do think though next time I make this I will add red pepper flakes to put a little zing into it and make even more memorable!! Thank you Doreen P!! This recipe will be emblazoned on my kitchen wall as a standing delight and treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I thought this was a really simple, straight-forward, good-tasting dish. I ended up making minor alterations (slightly more cornstarch and teaspoon of brown sugar for the sauce) but other than that, it was amazing. +5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Sauce was really sweet, but otherwise it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My family loved this! Any time I ask for dinner request this always comes up. It's a little complicated and time consuming, so only make it for special occasions. But taste better than some restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tenessa
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was delicious. To cut down on fat I followed another reviewers advice and baked the chicken instead of frying. I followed all the steps except putting the chicken in oil to fry.I baked the marinated chicken at 375 for 35 minutes. I didn't have chili paste so I sprinkled some cayenne pepper instead. I also did not add sherry because I didn't have any. I doubled the sauce recipe because I love extra sauce. Their were plenty of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States