Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Used dark brown sugar instead of light but, other that, I did everything as directed and it turned out PERFECT! This pie was a hit at our Thanksgiving gathering! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Following reviewer's advice, I omitted the white sugar and baked at 350 for 10 minutes and then 300 for 50 minutes. It was good but dry and crumbly. I'm not sure where I went wrong but there are a few other reviewers who had this problem as well. Maybe I would try again for less time at 300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Just made this today for thanksgiving. I doubled the recipe to make 2 pies and left out the white sugar. I also listened to other reviews and baked 15 min at 350 then about an hour at 300.. It was SOOO good! Not too sweet like most pecan pies. I also used extra pecans and made a pretty topping. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Just the right amount of sweetness, way better than any store bought pie. I'm new to cooking and baking so I was a bit nervous making this but it was easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
AWESOME!! My husband's comment is "WOW, this one is a keeper!" I've never made a pecan pie before, so wanted an easy recipe to use. I followed the ingredients as listed except increased the chopped pecans to 2 cups as other reviewers suggested. Before baking, I added 1/2 cup pecans on top for appearance. I baked the pie at 350 for 15 mins. and 300 for 80 mins. At 50 mins. my pie was not done so I increased the baking time another 30 mins. Turned out fine. The only recommendation my husband and I would make is reducing the sugar by half as it was a little too sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne M. Joachim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I was meeting my Boyfriends family for the first time on Thanksgiving and forgot that I had told him I would make a Pecan Pie for dessert. I also forgot my recipe and was out of state. I found this one and feel in love. So easy and quick plus it is the best Pecan Pie I have ever had. Not to mention it was a big hit I was asked to make three more before I went home that weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made a pecan pie for the first time last year. I had followed the recipe on the Karo bottle and it turned out great. Why I decided to mess with something that wasn't broke, I have no clue. I decided to try this recipe this year and I was greatly disappointed. It tastes nothing like pecan pie. I love sweets, but this was overly sweet. So much so that I only took one bite and threw the rest away. I know lots of others love this recipe, but they must've changed things because as is, is not edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First, this is not your regular pecan pie but that's what makes it good. I'm not a huge fan of pecan pie but my husband is. He absolutely loved it! Second, my suggestion to those trying the recipe for the first time: bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes and then 300 degrees for 55-60 minutes. This pie needs to set after baking, so I suggest making it the night before and refrigerate overnight. It's better the next day. It doesn't look like your traditional pecan pie but then again, it's not! I did use 1 1/2 cups of pecan pieces and I added 2 Tblspn of pancake syrup, for flavor. I would, and will, make this recipe again! Thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kara
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
So easy to make, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time on Thanksgiving . I made it as exactly written, no changes. and OMG! It was delicious! The best pecan pie I'v ever had!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States