Peanut Butter Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I love this recipe. One of my favorite dishes is cold sesame noodles. This recipe might be made with peanut butter, but it's the best home version I've found. Because I've been living abroad for the past several years, I've had to learn to recreate such culinary memories at home - and this particular dish was the hardest to get just right. I've spent the last two months making this sauce at least three or four times a week, using recipes from all over the internet - including those of celebrity chefs (and if you're interested, Tyler Florence's recipe for sesame noodles is also really worth trying). But for ease of preparation and great taste, this recipe is just my favorite. If you want to play around with it, you can try adding sesame oil or a little vinegar to cut the sweetness - but I think it's best as it is. Scallions cut on the bias, julienned cucumbers, julienned carrots, chopped peanuts, or toasted sesame seeds all make fantastic additions. This is also a perfect sauce for cracked pepper grilled chicken. This sauce is savory, sweet, spicy, smooth, sticky, kid friendly, fast, cheap, and delicious. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Excellent, quick recipe!! Added some chicken, carrots, bean sprouts, and green beans, and it reminded me of the Thai Chicken from The Cheesecake Factory. A recommendation for a slight change to this recipe: by cutting out the peanut butter and peanuts, and replacing them with apricot or pineapple jam and lime juice, you get a very Islands-flavor recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Wonderful but add cilantro, sesame oil and grilled chicken for heaven! Edited - forgot to add that I put in some red pepper for color and flavour.If you like spicey add some diced red and green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This is a keeper- tastes just like the Thai noodles that you get in Asia. Watch the garlic though, as some may find it a litte overpowering. I've made it several times and use chunky peanut butter, that way I don't have to use crushed peanuts, and it's even quicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Great recipe, easy and tasty. I will make this again, and I am planning on trying one reviewers suggestion to add coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I was so happy to find this recipe! Its nearly identical to one which was served in a restraunt where I used to work. The dish was called Thai Chicken. To recreate it I addded shredded chicken breast, julianned carrots and purple cabbage. Really tasty either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Was worried the peanut butter sauce was too runny when I first dumped it over the noodles, but after it sat for a few minutes it turned into what I was expecting. Thanks! Went well with the baked sesame chicken on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Great taste! The Udon noodles were a bit thick. I would use Soba noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This one is great just the way it is! I like a lot of heat, so I have also made it with red pepper flakes, chile oil, and tabasco. It makes a good one dish meal with two cubed chicken breasts, one red pepper and one or two zuchini added. Thanks for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Excellent. I would definitely use less ginger, perhaps 1/2 tbl? Also, I didn't have chili paste so I substituted 1 tsp of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 999) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States