Peanut Butter Cornflake Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I grew up making these, but to make them really good only use 5 cups of cornflakes!! 10 cups is WAY too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Adapted the recipe by using brown sugar and rice krispies...Is awesome!!! and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
We make these regularly around our house. They are pretty sweet so they go in the kids lunches as their treat. I used gluten free organic honeyed corn flakes and sometime sub agave syrup or honey for the corn syrup. Easy, fast, and more protein than a rice crispy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! I HAVEN'T TASTED THESE SINCE I WAS YOUNG. MY MOM GREW MYSELF AND MY SIBLINGS UP ON THESE, AND WHE I MADE THESE IT TASTED JUST LIKE MY MOMS. THANKS FOR THE RECIPES. BUT I DO AGREE WITH EVERYONE ELSE I REDUCED THE CEREAL TO 8 CUPS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrow, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious, easy-to-make peanut butter bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe has been around for at least 40 years. My Mom made these for our lunches when I was a teenager and I made them for my kids. YES reduce cereal to 8 cups and you can use any combo of dry plain cereal. I have subbed with "O's" Rice Crispies etc. as part of the mix for the 8 cups. You can also use honey as a switch from corn syrup. Enjoyed this variation a .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Mmmmm.... so good! These are just like the ones my mom made for me as a kid! I only used seven cups of cornflakes and they turned out perfectly! I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
So yummy! I followed the recipe as written, not having read the reviews before I made it. I thought it was delicious with the full amount of cornflakes, but I guess I'll have to try them again with less to compare. They taste great, but I want to try forming them into balls next time to see if they look a little more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieChic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are so awesome and just what I was looking for. They are like a scotcheroo with cornflakes instead of rice krispies. I followed other peoples advice and only used 7-8 cups of cornflakes. I think they would be great plain but I did melt 1 cup peanut butter chips and 1 cup chocolate chips and spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajbrumbaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My family loves this recipe. My husband is an avid peanut butter lover, so I always add at LEAST a 1/2 cup more peanut butter than the recipe calls for. I personally prefer crunchy pb in this, but hubby doesn't like the texture of the peanuts so I almost always do this recipe with smooth pb. I doubled the recipe (only did 16 cups of cornflakes, breaking them down with my hands while they were in the bowl), and substituted half of the corn syrup with honey (1 cup corn syrup, 1 cup honey). I cut down on the sugar, only adding 1 1/2 cups instead of a full 2 cups because of the sweetness of the honey. Did about 3 cups of pb this time around. SUPERB! I've made this a few times, and this was by far the best I've ever done it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States