Peanut Butter Cornflake Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I had to use a little less cornflakes that the recipe called for and I still had some flakes that were not sticking to the mass. These were just okay for me.. but they were super easy, quick, cheap and healthy so I am keeping the recipe and maybe adding a few mini choco chips or nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make a pan of these every week to go in the kids' lunch boxes. They love them & the other kids beg for a bite. Literally! Too funny! Here's how I like to do it: First off, use just about any kind of left over odds & ends cereal you may have languishing in the pantry, as long as it'd taste good with peanut butter. I'd think Trix, or any other fruity cereal would be a no-no, but any flavor Cheerio (banana is awesome), chocolate cereal, Kix, Chex etc work great. Shoot, I've even snuck in a handful of crunchy chow mein noodles here and there without issue & it was all good. Lol. Just mix it all up. About 6 cups worth of whatever you've got plus 4 cups cornflakes, or even Honey Bunches of Oats etc. I've never tried without some type of flakes added for the end texture, but it may even work without them. I add about 1/3 cup of ground flax seed to the dry cereal ( you can add wheat germ too), & I change the white sugar to brown, using 1/2 a cup ( just curb the sugar a little, not due to taste - a full cup is fine ). Use 1 cup creamy p.b., then add an extra 1/4 cup of crunchy p.b. because my kids like the extra nuttiness. Press down HARD into a lightly sprayed 13x9 by laying a piece of saran or wax paper over the top & mashing it. I enlist my hubby for this. Pack it in pretty tight, especially in the corners, or it won't stay in squares when you cut it! You can sprinkle a handful of mini chocolate chips or Reese's pieces over the top to make it extra special. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I haven't tried making these myself yet, but I bought a couple at a bake sale and they are so amazingly delicious. The ones I had were really good but they were hard and very chewy. I want to make them for my son's 3rd birthday but since the kids are younger (toddler and preschool age) does anyone know how I can makes them a little softer and easier to chew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was just like we used to get in elementary school. It was and still is a great little treat. Easy to make and great flavor too. This had too much cereal for the sugar/pb mix so the next time I will cut back to 8 cups of cereal instead. I've only ever made or had these as a drop cookie, so the bar concept was new and faster, but I like the clusters better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Made with half honey & half corn syrup. Definitely follow the suggestions to reduce cornflakes to 8 cups! Kids enjoyed them, but entirely to sweet for the grownups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I substituted honey for corn syrup, doubled pb, honey and sugar. Used an entire 18oz box of cornflakes (I don't eat normally so they would go to waste). Turned out perfect! I too have eaten these my entire life, mom made them whenever we went camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
These were great. Used the full 10 cups, but crushed it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This was not good, no taste except the corn syrup. I threw it out. I can't remember the last time I threw baking what a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
These are really yummy. I made these with 7 cups of cereal instead of 10, crunchy peanut butter and rainbow sprinkles on top. They're just as described, like crispy treats except with cornflakes and peanut butter. I definitely would not use 10 cups of cereal as stated. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Simple, great-tasting snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States