Peanut Butter Cornflake Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make a pan of these every week to go in the kids' lunch boxes. They love them & the other kids beg for a bite. Literally! Too funny! Here's how I like to do it: First off, use just about any kind of left over odds & ends cereal you may have languishing in the pantry, as long as it'd taste good with peanut butter. I'd think Trix, or any other fruity cereal would be a no-no, but any flavor Cheerio (banana is awesome), chocolate cereal, Kix, Chex etc work great. Shoot, I've even snuck in a handful of crunchy chow mein noodles here and there without issue & it was all good. Lol. Just mix it all up. About 6 cups worth of whatever you've got plus 4 cups cornflakes, or even Honey Bunches of Oats etc. I've never tried without some type of flakes added for the end texture, but it may even work without them. I add about 1/3 cup of ground flax seed to the dry cereal ( you can add wheat germ too), & I change the white sugar to brown, using 1/2 a cup ( just curb the sugar a little, not due to taste - a full cup is fine ). Use 1 cup creamy p.b., then add an extra 1/4 cup of crunchy p.b. because my kids like the extra nuttiness. Press down HARD into a lightly sprayed 13x9 by laying a piece of saran or wax paper over the top & mashing it. I enlist my hubby for this. Pack it in pretty tight, especially in the corners, or it won't stay in squares when you cut it! You can sprinkle a handful of mini chocolate chips or Reese's pieces over the top to make it extra special. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I haven't tried making these myself yet, but I bought a couple at a bake sale and they are so amazingly delicious. The ones I had were really good but they were hard and very chewy. I want to make them for my son's 3rd birthday but since the kids are younger (toddler and preschool age) does anyone know how I can makes them a little softer and easier to chew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was just like we used to get in elementary school. It was and still is a great little treat. Easy to make and great flavor too. This had too much cereal for the sugar/pb mix so the next time I will cut back to 8 cups of cereal instead. I've only ever made or had these as a drop cookie, so the bar concept was new and faster, but I like the clusters better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Made with half honey & half corn syrup. Definitely follow the suggestions to reduce cornflakes to 8 cups! Kids enjoyed them, but entirely to sweet for the grownups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I substituted honey for corn syrup, doubled pb, honey and sugar. Used an entire 18oz box of cornflakes (I don't eat normally so they would go to waste). Turned out perfect! I too have eaten these my entire life, mom made them whenever we went camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
These were great. Used the full 10 cups, but crushed it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This was not good, no taste except the corn syrup. I threw it out. I can't remember the last time I threw baking what a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
These are really yummy. I made these with 7 cups of cereal instead of 10, crunchy peanut butter and rainbow sprinkles on top. They're just as described, like crispy treats except with cornflakes and peanut butter. I definitely would not use 10 cups of cereal as stated. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryandkevinaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Simple, great-tasting snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Have made this recipe 2x, earlier today it was a huge disaster, very dry and I ended up throwing the whole batch in the trash. I really dislike wasting ingredients but I dislike even more not getting something simple to work out for me so I gave it another try. Apparently the key was to not let the syrup mix heat too long. Worked like a charm the 2nd time around. But I did reduce the flakes (both times) to 7-8 cups after reading all the reviews. Glad I gave it a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States