Peanut Butter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Wow! This tastes just like a huge Nutter Butter cookie. I went over the reviews and changed the recipe a bit to address the dryness and subtle peanut butter flavor since my husband and I LOVE peanut butter. To address the dryness I creamed 1/2 c. of Land o Lakes lite stick butter with 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar, then added the egg and vanilla and mixed in 3/4 c. of chunky peanut butter and 1 cup of buttermilk (1 c. milk with 1 Tbsp. of vinegar). In a separate bowl I mixed the dry ingredients reducing the oats to 3/4 c. and cutting in an additional 3/4 of chunky peanut butter. Then mix the dry and wet ingredients together. I sprayed a glass baking dish with Pam for baking and this baked up perfect in 1 hour and 5 minutes. After it cooled I topped it with Peanut Butter Glaze from this site -this was a great find for peanut butter addicts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I used regular peanut butter instead of chuncky and it turned out great! You have to love peanut butter to love this bread! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FarmMom
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
This recipe turned out great, however, I did make some changes. I DOUBLED the original recipe and made these additional changes: 1 16.3oz container of creamy peanut butter - only b/c I didn't have chunky 3 eggs 1/4 cup oil 2 cups buttermilk instead of regular milk Also, I blended all of the wet ingredients together seperately using a hand mixer(to avoid splattering, cream all of the wet ingradients except the buttermilk first, and then gradually mix in the buttermilk). In a seperate bowl I blended the dry ingredients with a fork, then mixed the two together, being careful not to overdo it. I ended up with 3 loaves in 2 two different size pans, and one of those was metal, so my cooking time varied from 45 min. to 1 hour, however 325 degrees was a better temperature - especially if you are using a metal pan. My loaves were not dry at all, and weren't dense - the texture was very good. I suspect a previous reviewer didn't use enough baking powder, b/c it calls for Tablespoon not teaspoon. The only drawback I had was that the loaves wanted to stick, so make sure the pans are well-greased and floured. Next time I will use chunky peanut butter, or add some chopped nuts, because I think that would only make it better. I hate to see a good recipe get bad reviews, so I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarmMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I have made this twice. The first time as directed with the exception of creamy peanut butter and a handful of crushed peanuts. The second time I double the recipe and substituted one cup of wheat flour and about one cup of low-fat peanut butter and again added crushed peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good. A nice, mild peanut butter flavor. Tastes very similar to a big peanut butter cookie. A little crumbly though. But I will make this again. I've thought about maybe adding chocolate chips. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
We LOVE it! All 4 of my boys gave it the thumbs up, and I cant stop eating it either. Since other reviews mentioned it being dry, I decided to leave out the oatmeal, and increase the peanut butter to 1 Cup (I used creamy.). I also doubled the recipe, thank goodness cause my boys ate it right up! It baked for exactly 55 minutes. I let it cool slightly, then wrapped it up tight with foil and put it in the fridge over night. This morning for breakfast I microwaved slices for just a few seconds and lightly drizzled with honey - amazing! Thanks for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I followed most of the recipe but did make the changes that Jillian (first review above) made to address the dryness. Next time I'll double the recipe so it'll last more than an evening! Beyond awesome with peanut butter glaze or honey when warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Minor-Townzen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this and added some peanut butter chips to the mix in the end. The taste is good but the bread is rather crumbly. Hubby says it's better that way so I bumped this up to a FOUR star. My 20 month old loves it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I made this Gluten Free. Took the advice from Jillian's review and changed it a bit. First, in a standing mixer I creamed 1/2 c butter with 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar. Then, add the egg and vanilla. Add 3/4 c peanut butter and 1 cu buttermilk (1 Tbsp vinegar and 1 c milk). In another large bowl, I used 1 c brown rice flour, 1/2 c corn starch, 3/4 c oats, 1 Tblsp baking powder, 1 1/2 tsp xanthum gum, 1/2 tsp salt. Then cut 3/4 c peanut butter into dry ingredients. Mix dry with wet ingredients. Bake as directed but watch closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Like many reviewers said, the bread was really bland.. I made bit of peanut butter frosting to make up the lost peanut butter taste. Also, mine wasn't as dry since I tried to follow top reviewer's advice, but I definitely should have doubled the peanut butter. I will try again with more peanut butter and buttermilk since I do love anything with peanut butter! EDIT: I tried the leftover following day, and there was more of the peanut butter taste! So instead of 3 star, I give 4. And I will make it again with more peanut butter, which will lead to 5 star I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States