Peanut Butter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Wow! This tastes just like a huge Nutter Butter cookie. I went over the reviews and changed the recipe a bit to address the dryness and subtle peanut butter flavor since my husband and I LOVE peanut butter. To address the dryness I creamed 1/2 c. of Land o Lakes lite stick butter with 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar, then added the egg and vanilla and mixed in 3/4 c. of chunky peanut butter and 1 cup of buttermilk (1 c. milk with 1 Tbsp. of vinegar). In a separate bowl I mixed the dry ingredients reducing the oats to 3/4 c. and cutting in an additional 3/4 of chunky peanut butter. Then mix the dry and wet ingredients together. I sprayed a glass baking dish with Pam for baking and this baked up perfect in 1 hour and 5 minutes. After it cooled I topped it with Peanut Butter Glaze from this site -this was a great find for peanut butter addicts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by FarmMom
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
This recipe turned out great, however, I did make some changes. I DOUBLED the original recipe and made these additional changes: 1 16.3oz container of creamy peanut butter - only b/c I didn't have chunky 3 eggs 1/4 cup oil 2 cups buttermilk instead of regular milk Also, I blended all of the wet ingredients together seperately using a hand mixer(to avoid splattering, cream all of the wet ingradients except the buttermilk first, and then gradually mix in the buttermilk). In a seperate bowl I blended the dry ingredients with a fork, then mixed the two together, being careful not to overdo it. I ended up with 3 loaves in 2 two different size pans, and one of those was metal, so my cooking time varied from 45 min. to 1 hour, however 325 degrees was a better temperature - especially if you are using a metal pan. My loaves were not dry at all, and weren't dense - the texture was very good. I suspect a previous reviewer didn't use enough baking powder, b/c it calls for Tablespoon not teaspoon. The only drawback I had was that the loaves wanted to stick, so make sure the pans are well-greased and floured. Next time I will use chunky peanut butter, or add some chopped nuts, because I think that would only make it better. I hate to see a good recipe get bad reviews, so I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarmMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley B.
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I added more peanut butter than the recipe calls for and added chocolate chips. Next time I make it I might add even more peanut butter maybe in the form of chips but I must say that everyone who tried it enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
We LOVE it! All 4 of my boys gave it the thumbs up, and I cant stop eating it either. Since other reviews mentioned it being dry, I decided to leave out the oatmeal, and increase the peanut butter to 1 Cup (I used creamy.). I also doubled the recipe, thank goodness cause my boys ate it right up! It baked for exactly 55 minutes. I let it cool slightly, then wrapped it up tight with foil and put it in the fridge over night. This morning for breakfast I microwaved slices for just a few seconds and lightly drizzled with honey - amazing! Thanks for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I have made this twice. The first time as directed with the exception of creamy peanut butter and a handful of crushed peanuts. The second time I double the recipe and substituted one cup of wheat flour and about one cup of low-fat peanut butter and again added crushed peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I wanted more peanut butter flavor, so I increased the peanut butter to 1 cup, which did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I followed this recipe to exactly as it was written and it seemed like it was missing something. The bread was a bit more crumbly than I was hoping for and just didn't have that much flavor. It was okay but not something that I'd probably do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Pretty good. I upped the PB and added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this and added some peanut butter chips to the mix in the end. The taste is good but the bread is rather crumbly. Hubby says it's better that way so I bumped this up to a FOUR star. My 20 month old loves it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this bread exactly to direction. The final product was dry and heavy. I doubt I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States