Peanut Butter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good. A nice, mild peanut butter flavor. Tastes very similar to a big peanut butter cookie. A little crumbly though. But I will make this again. I've thought about maybe adding chocolate chips. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I used regular peanut butter instead of chuncky and it turned out great! You have to love peanut butter to love this bread! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I wanted more peanut butter flavor, so I increased the peanut butter to 1 cup, which did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this bread exactly to direction. The final product was dry and heavy. I doubt I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Pretty good. I upped the PB and added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley B.
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I added more peanut butter than the recipe calls for and added chocolate chips. Next time I make it I might add even more peanut butter maybe in the form of chips but I must say that everyone who tried it enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
it's ok, not a cake and not a bread....kinda in-between. I spread peanut butter on it with a little jelly and served it open-faced as a snack. 60mins is too long as the cake did start to burn after the 45min. mark, so I took it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Was very heavy and dense....but crumbly. I could not cut a slice. The taste was ok, but no-one in the family was that excitied about it. Threw half of the loaf out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FarmMom
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
This recipe turned out great, however, I did make some changes. I DOUBLED the original recipe and made these additional changes: 1 16.3oz container of creamy peanut butter - only b/c I didn't have chunky 3 eggs 1/4 cup oil 2 cups buttermilk instead of regular milk Also, I blended all of the wet ingredients together seperately using a hand mixer(to avoid splattering, cream all of the wet ingradients except the buttermilk first, and then gradually mix in the buttermilk). In a seperate bowl I blended the dry ingredients with a fork, then mixed the two together, being careful not to overdo it. I ended up with 3 loaves in 2 two different size pans, and one of those was metal, so my cooking time varied from 45 min. to 1 hour, however 325 degrees was a better temperature - especially if you are using a metal pan. My loaves were not dry at all, and weren't dense - the texture was very good. I suspect a previous reviewer didn't use enough baking powder, b/c it calls for Tablespoon not teaspoon. The only drawback I had was that the loaves wanted to stick, so make sure the pans are well-greased and floured. Next time I will use chunky peanut butter, or add some chopped nuts, because I think that would only make it better. I hate to see a good recipe get bad reviews, so I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarmMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Wow! This tastes just like a huge Nutter Butter cookie. I went over the reviews and changed the recipe a bit to address the dryness and subtle peanut butter flavor since my husband and I LOVE peanut butter. To address the dryness I creamed 1/2 c. of Land o Lakes lite stick butter with 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar, then added the egg and vanilla and mixed in 3/4 c. of chunky peanut butter and 1 cup of buttermilk (1 c. milk with 1 Tbsp. of vinegar). In a separate bowl I mixed the dry ingredients reducing the oats to 3/4 c. and cutting in an additional 3/4 of chunky peanut butter. Then mix the dry and wet ingredients together. I sprayed a glass baking dish with Pam for baking and this baked up perfect in 1 hour and 5 minutes. After it cooled I topped it with Peanut Butter Glaze from this site -this was a great find for peanut butter addicts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States