Peanut Butter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Wow! This tastes just like a huge Nutter Butter cookie. I went over the reviews and changed the recipe a bit to address the dryness and subtle peanut butter flavor since my husband and I LOVE peanut butter. To address the dryness I creamed 1/2 c. of Land o Lakes lite stick butter with 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar, then added the egg and vanilla and mixed in 3/4 c. of chunky peanut butter and 1 cup of buttermilk (1 c. milk with 1 Tbsp. of vinegar). In a separate bowl I mixed the dry ingredients reducing the oats to 3/4 c. and cutting in an additional 3/4 of chunky peanut butter. Then mix the dry and wet ingredients together. I sprayed a glass baking dish with Pam for baking and this baked up perfect in 1 hour and 5 minutes. After it cooled I topped it with Peanut Butter Glaze from this site -this was a great find for peanut butter addicts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by FarmMom
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
This recipe turned out great, however, I did make some changes. I DOUBLED the original recipe and made these additional changes: 1 16.3oz container of creamy peanut butter - only b/c I didn't have chunky 3 eggs 1/4 cup oil 2 cups buttermilk instead of regular milk Also, I blended all of the wet ingredients together seperately using a hand mixer(to avoid splattering, cream all of the wet ingradients except the buttermilk first, and then gradually mix in the buttermilk). In a seperate bowl I blended the dry ingredients with a fork, then mixed the two together, being careful not to overdo it. I ended up with 3 loaves in 2 two different size pans, and one of those was metal, so my cooking time varied from 45 min. to 1 hour, however 325 degrees was a better temperature - especially if you are using a metal pan. My loaves were not dry at all, and weren't dense - the texture was very good. I suspect a previous reviewer didn't use enough baking powder, b/c it calls for Tablespoon not teaspoon. The only drawback I had was that the loaves wanted to stick, so make sure the pans are well-greased and floured. Next time I will use chunky peanut butter, or add some chopped nuts, because I think that would only make it better. I hate to see a good recipe get bad reviews, so I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarmMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Was very heavy and dense....but crumbly. I could not cut a slice. The taste was ok, but no-one in the family was that excitied about it. Threw half of the loaf out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
it's ok, not a cake and not a bread....kinda in-between. I spread peanut butter on it with a little jelly and served it open-faced as a snack. 60mins is too long as the cake did start to burn after the 45min. mark, so I took it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley B.
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I added more peanut butter than the recipe calls for and added chocolate chips. Next time I make it I might add even more peanut butter maybe in the form of chips but I must say that everyone who tried it enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Pretty good. I upped the PB and added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this bread exactly to direction. The final product was dry and heavy. I doubt I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I wanted more peanut butter flavor, so I increased the peanut butter to 1 cup, which did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I used regular peanut butter instead of chuncky and it turned out great! You have to love peanut butter to love this bread! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good. A nice, mild peanut butter flavor. Tastes very similar to a big peanut butter cookie. A little crumbly though. But I will make this again. I've thought about maybe adding chocolate chips. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States