Peanut Butter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I took Jillian's advice and modified the recipe with her changes. I also added chocolate chips and made muffins instead of a loaf since others said the bread was crumbly. This is a delicious recipe although I found it to still be dry. You definitely need a glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Like many reviewers said, the bread was really bland.. I made bit of peanut butter frosting to make up the lost peanut butter taste. Also, mine wasn't as dry since I tried to follow top reviewer's advice, but I definitely should have doubled the peanut butter. I will try again with more peanut butter and buttermilk since I do love anything with peanut butter! EDIT: I tried the leftover following day, and there was more of the peanut butter taste! So instead of 3 star, I give 4. And I will make it again with more peanut butter, which will lead to 5 star I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
There is definitely something missing from this recipe....no shortening or butter or even milk making this bread extremely dry. I made it again adding in 1/2 of shortening and it did improve the bread making it a bit more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudysfavorites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I made this Gluten Free. Took the advice from Jillian's review and changed it a bit. First, in a standing mixer I creamed 1/2 c butter with 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar. Then, add the egg and vanilla. Add 3/4 c peanut butter and 1 cu buttermilk (1 Tbsp vinegar and 1 c milk). In another large bowl, I used 1 c brown rice flour, 1/2 c corn starch, 3/4 c oats, 1 Tblsp baking powder, 1 1/2 tsp xanthum gum, 1/2 tsp salt. Then cut 3/4 c peanut butter into dry ingredients. Mix dry with wet ingredients. Bake as directed but watch closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this and added some peanut butter chips to the mix in the end. The taste is good but the bread is rather crumbly. Hubby says it's better that way so I bumped this up to a FOUR star. My 20 month old loves it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I followed most of the recipe but did make the changes that Jillian (first review above) made to address the dryness. Next time I'll double the recipe so it'll last more than an evening! Beyond awesome with peanut butter glaze or honey when warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Minor-Townzen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
We LOVE it! All 4 of my boys gave it the thumbs up, and I cant stop eating it either. Since other reviews mentioned it being dry, I decided to leave out the oatmeal, and increase the peanut butter to 1 Cup (I used creamy.). I also doubled the recipe, thank goodness cause my boys ate it right up! It baked for exactly 55 minutes. I let it cool slightly, then wrapped it up tight with foil and put it in the fridge over night. This morning for breakfast I microwaved slices for just a few seconds and lightly drizzled with honey - amazing! Thanks for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I have made this twice. The first time as directed with the exception of creamy peanut butter and a handful of crushed peanuts. The second time I double the recipe and substituted one cup of wheat flour and about one cup of low-fat peanut butter and again added crushed peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I followed this recipe to exactly as it was written and it seemed like it was missing something. The bread was a bit more crumbly than I was hoping for and just didn't have that much flavor. It was okay but not something that I'd probably do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
No, No, No...don't waste your time! This was not dry, but VERY crumbly, there was no "slicing" it! Could run par for the course for PB bread though, all the recipes I have seen on the internet have the same complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States