Peanut Butter Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I was disappointed in the recipe. The sugar added to the graham crumbs had a grainy taste. Way to sweet. Muffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Mmmm! Almost too good. Note: peanut butter, especially natural, may differ in the oil content and need an adjustment in the butter/margarine ratio. As mentioned in other reviews, be sure to pulverize the graham crackers to a fine powder for the best texture. I find it easiest to melt the butter/margarine and peanut butter together to blend thoroughly and then add the mixed dry ingredients. My adjustments from the original recipe for personal preference include cutting the butter/margarine to 3/4 cup; cutting the confectioners sugar to 1 1/2 cups; increasing the peanut butter to 1 1/4 cup. I triple the base recipe and use 1 1/2 X of the top layer and make these in a 15-1/2” X 10-1/2” cookie pan, and then get them out of the house as soon as possible! I said they are good?. I also use parchment paper to line the cookie sheet and another piece on top of it and then roll it to get the base as smooth as possible, chill the base before spreading the top layer, chill again and then cut into squares. Keep these goodies refrigerated prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is the first recipe I have tried for my New Years resolution, which is to cook or bake one new recipe each week. I used to have these peanut butter chocolate bars as a kid, our school called them gold bars. They were so easy to make - even I didn't mess it up and I have nearly 0 kitchen experience. I cut the recipe in half and used a smaller pan because it's just me and my roommate eating them. They were as tasty as I remembered! A good start to 2015 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Easy, rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
These are excellent. I made them after making the homemade peanut butter cups on this site and I think these are much tastier. The peanut butter mixture is the best I've had. I might prefer to make more of the chocolate layer next time, though. Made these for Christmas and they were a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
First recipe I have seen with peanut butter & Graham crackers. It's fabulous! Saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Not enough peanut butter flavour, and the graham crumbs I used made them crunchy. Just an okay bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The peanut butter bottom got smushy when it became room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I took the bars to a family Christmas party and everyone was telling me how good they are. As others suggested I puts the peanut butter in the fridge for 20 minutes before topping with the melted chocolate. I also put 1/4 tablespoons into the chocolate mixture. Came out perfectly and everyone was asking me where I got the recipe from. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meigz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! We have made it many times and I have found that if i use sticks of real butter and use it soft (not melted), the bottom firms up much better. When I used margarine, the bottom stayed mushy. Also, cool the peanut butter layer for a bit before you spread on the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States