Peanut Butter Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Kids said that these are better than Reese's! Very tasty. Has anyone tried using just 1 stick of butter successfully? I'll let you know if it works! UPDATE: I made these with 1 1/2 sticks of butter with equally delicious results. I will update again trying 1 stick...UPDATE #2: Okay, I tried one stick of butter - the taste is still delicious! The only difference is that the peanut butter part is a little more crumbly...doesn't hold together quite as well...so you decide how much butter you want to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These have become an absolute staple in my house! Also, it is my total standard recipe for 'gotta-bring-something-sweet' to 'fill-in-the-blank'. SO easy, SO fast and terrific for satisfying those cravings. I chill the peanut butter base for 15 or 20 minutes before topping with the chocolate so the warm chocolate doesn't melt into the peanut butter too much, making spots of too thick chocolate and leaving other areas spread too thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
908 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These were great! I was a little worried because I used natural peanut butter and the bottom layer was really runny when I put it in the pan. I am glad I kept them refrigerated because they do soften quickly at room temperature but all in all, they turned out great. Everyone who tried them loved them and my friend wanted the recipe. I had hoped to find a review saying they work even with natural peanut butter but couldn't find one, so now you know! I'm sure they are firmer with regular peanut butter but I'll save myself the hydrogenated oil! UPDATE: This has become a staple in our house as well as many of our friends. I still prefer natural peanut butter, and I've found Skippy Natural works the best, but you can do with other kinds like Laura Scudders, etc. Just keep them in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
557 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECOOKAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Out of all the chocolate/peanut butter bar recipes on this site, this one to me is the best because it has a good ratio of chocolate layer to peanut butter layer and also is not too sweet to allow the chocolate and peanut butter flavors to shine through. I made a few alterations for my own personal taste as well. I added an extra 1/2 cup peanut butter to the bottom layer mixture. I also used Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet chips and I used the whole 12 oz bag (for 2 cups total). Since I had more chips, I also added 1/4 cup of butter to the chocolate/peanut butter melting mixture. This helps keep the chocolate layer smooth and spreadable and helps adhesion to the peanut butter layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
SO GOOD!!!! If you are a peanut butter/chocolate fanatic like me, then you will love this. I followed other reviewers suggestions to make the recipe easier by melting the peanut butter with butter, then mixing with graham crackers and powdered sugar. Also, chill the peanut butter base for 15 minutes before topping with chocolate mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I decreased the butter to 1 1/2 sticks, and used 14 graham crackers, and milk chocolate chips. I used softened butter instead of melted. You really need to pulverize the graham crackers to a fine powder to get the texture of this recipe right (a food processor works great). I used a 7x11 pan so they'd be thicker. Taste just like Reese's except the filling is a little coarser. Keep these babies in the refrigerator or you'll have a soft, gooey mess on your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
A hit, a major hit. Our guests loved this, we loved this, my children asked me to make it again this week. Since we only have dessert once a week, that is a big compliment! To make mixing easier, I put the pb in the pan with the butter and let it "melt" along with the butter. Then I added both to the graham crackers and powdered sugar. Otherwise, I followed it exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I loved these Peanut Butter bars! I helped my Mom make them. They were easy enough that I could make them on my own! This tops any dessert I ever had! We froze half of the bars they were great too. For the peanut butter part, we only used a half of cup of butter instead of a whole cup. JOHN AGE 9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
These are very good and very sweet. I made them to send to a friend and they didn't turn out as sturdy as I was hoping for. I'm keeping this batch (poor me) and will make her another using less butter in the PB mixture and less PB in the chocolate. I think I'll also add a little salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
These were really good. I would like a bit more peanut butter flavor (personal preference). Based on another recipe I cut the bars up after chilling for 10 minutes, then chilled until ready to serve. I had no problem with the chocolate breaking up that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States