Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
My dogs did not like these at all. Do NOT make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My dog loves these treats! I added some honey and a little water to the dough. Once the dough was a good consistency, I rolled it out and used cookie cutters to make different shapes. My dog definitely prefers these over her store-bought treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I loved making these treats. As a Doxie Mommy it is hard to find treats that will fit her small little mouth. With this i can. However i did have to change it up a bit. The Doughwas to dry. So i added a cup of pumpkin and 3/8 cup peanut butter and it was perfect. If you plan on making them small instead of 40 mins do 15mins and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. My dog has always battled a weight issue, so I was looking for a low fat recipe or at least one not calling for lard to be added. Not only does this recipe provide that but it also has pumpkin which provides a natural source of fiber. I omit the salt to reduce the sodium. My dog absolutely loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F.S. ohio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
My Patterdale Terrier only plays with treats that he loves the most (throwing them around, hiding them, and most oddly, running around whining with them in his mouth). These definitely passed that test. I found one under my pillow! I increased the pumpkin to 1 cup and used about 3 heaping tablespoons of peanut butter. Also threw in about 3/4 cup of rolled oats to give them some depth. I rolled them about to about 1/2 inch thickness and cut them out using dog bone and various mini christmas cookie cutters. Baked them for about 35 minutes. Awesome recipe, will make again and again. EDIT: I've been making these for 4 years now and they are loved by my dogs, as well as neighborhood hounds, family members; dogs, and friends' pooches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My Siberian Husky gives these 2 paws waaay up! He absolutely loves them. I did make a couple of adjustments though. I doubled the peanut butter and pumpkin, and omited the salt. These are awesome and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
What a great recipe. I have been making p.b. dog treats for our two pitbulls and they love them. We recently found out that they need more fiber in their diet, so they've been getting canned pumpkin (which gets kind of messy). This is a perfect recipe for their needs! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bianca
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My dogs loved these cookies. I added more pumpkin and added some water because the dough was too dry. I didn't have whole wheat flour so i just used all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
The Flash Dog loved these treats. I did use more pumpkin as other recommended, as well as omited the salt and cinnamon. I used barley flour since Flash is allergic to wheat. I needed quite a bit of flour to roll them out with upping the amount of pumpkin. I think next time I'll use the amount called for, and just add a little extra to get to the consistancy I need to roll them out. I also cut them smaller, so I only baked for a little over 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
My puppers loved these...being allergic to a lot of things, and having a very sensitive tummy as of late, I decided to give these a go. She's not even treat oriented, but she went crazy for these. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States