Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Outstanding! The dough is so wonderful to work with and easy to roll out. Plus, not only do my pups love them, the "dog" cookies are pretty delish with hummus as well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as directed the first time and it was a bit hard to work with the dough. The next time, I doubled the pumpkin and then added in as much flour as I could with no water. I kneaded in remaining flour on a floured board. super easy to roll out and cut into cute shapes. My black labs LOVE these! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
These are easy to make and my dog loves them! I used a heart-shaped cookie cutter that I already had. I like making them because you know what's in them and they are healthy. I may also make them for my friends and family that have dogs! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
For those who said they had problems with mold.....make sure treats are thoroughly cooled before storing them. If they are warm they will cause condensation in the container hence molding your cookies. I doubled peanut butter and pumpkin and added oat flour (instead of wheat flour) as I kneaded it to the right consistency. I also added ground pumpkin seeds and chia seeds for added crunch. My 8 month old German Pointer goes as CRAZY or more for these than he does wild rabbit or bacon! I stuff his KONG toy with a couple (they are chewy consistency) and he is good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
My golden doodle will wait in the kitchen by the oven for these treats to finish baking! She absolutely loves them!! I read through a few of the reviews and just as others I made a few adjustments. I used 3cups of flour, 1 complete can of pumpkin, a couple of extra dabs of PB and finally 1 extra dash of cinnamon. Annabelle (the doodle) is in love with these!!! This recipe is super simple and works well with my Kitchenaid mixer. The dough is tacky, but once you flour your surface, wipe your hands with a touch of oil your then ready to begin rolling your dough. I found very inexpensive doggie bone cutouts through Amazon...I couldn't be more pleased. I'm one proud doodle mom with a healthy treat in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My dogs absolutely love these treats! My boy's tummy does not get along with wheat, so I used rice flour and about a half cup of potato starch. I also followed previous suggestions; doubled peanut butter to 1/4 cup and doubled pumpkin to 1 cup. This only required an extra 1/4 of flour or so. They baked perfectly - crunchy all the way through. I always give my pups a treat when I'm on my way out, and I feel like they're practically shoving me out the door in order to get their new treats now! Definitely a keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I put all the ingredients into the food processor and pulsed it like you would a tart crust. Didn't need a bit of water and the dough came together nicely and was a snap to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My dog loves these. I would buy him all different treats and he would drop them out of his mouth and walk away. Not these, he gobbles them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
So easy and my dogs really LOVE them, even our our old lab mix who turns his nose up a milkbones, now when I ask him if he wants a cookie, you can see the excitement from his sparkling eyes to the tip of his waging tail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great recipe - thank you for posting. After making several times, I took other reviewers suggestions to double both pumpkin and peanut butter and omit salt. It makes the dough perfect consistency. I cover dough I am not rolling out with a wet paper towel to keep moist. Today I poked each biscuit with a fork several times on both sides to keep biscuits from puffing up like a balloon - worked well only after discovering poking had to be on both sides! These are better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States