Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
My dog is in love with these things. She loves crunchy stuff and these defiantly are crunchy and hard. I will definitely be making them again although for whatever reason mine took twice as long as the recipe said to cook. Maybe my thickness was off? Will be cooking them thinner next time and think I'll give them out as a Xmas gift to all my friends with puppies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
This can be easily doubled with NO COMPLICATIONS from much too much of any ingredient. Occasionally, I put in EXTRA PEANUT BUTTER with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Fun and easy. My dogs love them. I may try to add banana next time if it doesn't mess with the consistency too bad. I love the idea of giving them whole natural treats vs all the chemicals in regular treats. Awesome awesome recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BasementCat
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I made these cookies today. Before I go any further, I want to say that I am a beyond amateur cook. Fully capable of screwing up even the easiest of recipes. But this one is very easy to make. I did make the mistake of coating it with flour to roll it out. It didn't need it. Some changes I did make, though: 1) I only cooked mine for 20 minutes, which was perfect for my dogs. This way it was chewy and not too hard for my old man dog. 2) Don't try to whisk it. I used a spoon just enough to start the ingredients together and then just put my hands in the bowl to finish it. You probably don't even need to add any water if you do this. The only downside is that they smelled so good that I really wanted one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BasementCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
My beagle-yellow lab puppy is grain free. She loves these treats even though they have brown rice flour in them. She doesn't have stomach problems with these. They are worth the time to make. We give them to her 2 times a day. I suggest refrigerating them because when we didn't mild grew on the treats and we had to throw out about 2 dozen treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
We have one do who will eat anything that crosses his path and one very picky little dog that doesn't like much at all. Needless to say these are a hit with both of them and my biggest problem is making sure we have enough on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya D Kohl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
These are the BEST! Nice healthy treat. My dogs gobble them up and I feel good about feeding them something that I know exactly what's in them. I changed one thing -- I used brown rice flour (one of my pups is sensitive to wheat). I also added about 1/4 of honey. For those who think the dough is too sticky....add more flour until the consistency is workable. It's an easy fix. Also, wet your hands with water before handling the dough -- it helps a lot. This dog biscuit recipe is my standard, "go to" and my dog-owner friends love it when I give them these as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Tough to handle dough. Must have used too much pumpkin from idea from other cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamezera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaJo
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I have a lot of canned pumpkin left over from the holidays and this was a perfect way to use it up. I used a whole can of pumpkin, 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and quick oats. 2 eggs, 2 Tablespoon of PBS and a shake of cinnamon. It was too soft to roll out. Kinda like a thick oatmeal cookie mix. So I made them like drop cookies. About a half teaspoon (my baby is still a baby) then pressed flat with my fingers. Baked them at 350 for almost 30 min or so. I kept checking to make sure they wouldn't burn but got dry. My little chug Arianna, LIVES them. Everything I go into the kitchen she follows me hoping I will give her another one. LOL I will definitely make these again . Super simple as drop cookies. Very little fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Have made these several times and our dogs love them! Only thing I change is that I use spelt flour instead of whole wheat. I also find it's much quicker if I spread the dough out on a cookie sheet, bake it, and then cut it using a pizza cutter. Not cute like cookie cutter shapes but the dogs don't seem to mind!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States