Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ruby's Mother
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
2 Paws Up from my lab/hound cross! I decreased the flour to 2 cups and added 3/4 cup of oatmeal, and I used 2 tbsp PB2 (powdered peanut butter) plus 2 tbsp organic coconut oil instead of regular peanut butter. I only needed about 1/3 cup water to make a soft dough and then rolled out the dough on a floured board. I cut up the biscuits into 1 inch squares using a pastry wheel, and pricked the top of the biscuits with a fork. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper and rotated them half-way through. The results are crunchy and doggy-licious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mother

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I used this as a starting point here's some changes I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
My poor puppy is having a rough time recovering from her recent surgery so I thought I would make her some cookies. She really likes them! My husband had accidently opened a 15 oz can of pumpkin that was in the fridge so this was a perfect way to make use of it. I read other reviews so I opted to increase the peanut butter as well to balance the pumpkin, pb ratio. I added some oats and slowly added more flour until the dough was the right consistency. I wanted small treats. After rolling out the dough I used a pizza cutter to quickly make bite size pieces that can be used for training. Baking time was approximately 20 minutes per pan. I ended up with 236 treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommytimestwo
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Both of my dogs (Terrier-mix and German Shepherd) love this recipe! I took the advice of others and doubled the PB and pumpkin. They liked it better and it smelled more of PB and pumpkin rather than just smelling like dough. I also substitute butternut squash and they still can't get enough of them. I have also tried adding applesauce and bananas in lieu of doubling the ingredients and it worked out wonderfully! Instead of doubling, I followed the 1/2 cup pumpkin and 2 tbsp of PB and added 1/2 cup of applesauce and one banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommytimestwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
My dog did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
My two schnauzers LOVE these, to the exclusion of store-bought treats. I doubled the pumpkin and you absolutely will have to add water in small increments to make the dough workable - it can be very sticky. I also sometimes add molasses or honey and flax. I don't cook them to rock hard like the recipe recommends; I leave them somewhat chewy, but beware if you do this that they will not keep as long (maybe 5 days) although my dogs are so spoiled this is rarely an issue. We go thru treats at a ridiculous rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
When I read the reviews I was skeptical at how much everyone said their docs love them. I have made 4 batches of these and my dogs cannot get enough! I originally started making these because we got two new puppies and needed some small training treats. I use a pizza cutter to cut small little squares and they work beautifully. I can't imagine how much money I have saved, and even better the dogs are gettings something healthier and that they love. I am going to try and make them with rice flour which is easier on their stomachs. But I imagine this recipe will be used many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy and must be yummy, my dog is loving these bones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie K
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I board dogs in my home. I made these to give to the families when they picked up their pups as a thank you for their business. Some have complained that these are too dry to work with. I found that if I mixed all of the wet ingredients together and then added in the dry ingredients this dough was a dream to work! And the dogs LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amyrae
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very easy to make!!! A lot of reviewers mentioned that they doubled the pumpkin and than others mentioned that when they did that the dough was unworkable so I followed the recipe however I added 3/4 cup of pumpkin and I did not add salt. I don't add salt to my cooking I am not going to put it in my dogs. My dogs love them!!! I also bought some apple filling so I can switch out the pumpkin. Will be making it again especially with all these dog treat recalls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States