Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by twistedsisterl
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I followed the recipe as close as I could with what I had on hand. Instead of wheat germ I used wheat bran, which is naturally 'sweet'. Since my Labrador needs no additional reason to be happy I also left out the honey. Out of the 2 dog biscuit recipes I have he prefers this one, it's more peanutty. (I know I tried a bite). It only made 14 biscuits with a medium-size round biscuit cutter, so next time I will at least double the recipe. As for the cook - don't be stingy with the flour when rolling it out. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Replaced wheat germ with oatmeal and my dog likes these bones better then his premium bones.this recipe is the best, every time I make these I try new ingredients Flax seed, baby food,pumpkin and they always love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I made this recipe on Sunday and to my surprise my dogs love them! I did not follow recipe as what prompted me to make them is that I was out of the dogs regular "cookies" and didn't want to run to the store. I used flaxseed meal (had on hand) instead of wheat germ assuming it has the same healthful benefits for dogs as it does for peops. I took the suggestion from another reviewer and pressed the cookies with a fork rather than rolling and cutting them out. I also doubled the recipe. (Our dogs get rewarded alot!) Dough a bit sticky and would have required additional flour for rolling/cutting. Otherwise, fantastic recipe! I love knowing what's really gowing in my dogs tummies! I plan to wean my pups from the other .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
These are 100% Patterdale Terrier approved! My dog went crazy for these treats. I did make a few minor alterations... upped the peanut butter to 1/2 a cup, added an extra 1/2 cup of flour. I substituted 1/2 cup of crushed Wheaties cereal for the wheat germ because that's all I had on hand, and used just a TINY bit of honey (because the Wheaties have sugar in them). I used 2 bananas and it was just perfect. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I really didn't want to roll out the dough, so I just rolled into balls and flattened with a fork. They baked just fine as directed. At first, my dog wouldn't take the treats, so I was a bit worried. I tried again, and he ate several. Don't know what was wrong with him before. Anyway, easy and quick. I used 1 banana and it seemed like it was about 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My beagle loves these treats and he's a picky little eater. I added a little bit of oatmeal to the recipe so it would be a little less sticky and good for him too! They take a bit longer to cook (about 3 minutes longer). I added extra peanut butter and 2 bananas. I did add some honey but on a teaspoon because my dog is spoiled enough! haha. Best dog treat recipe i've made. (: Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglovee!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My two dogs absolutely love these...I didn't have any wheat germ on hand, so as one reviewer had done, I used oatmeal instead. Took the time to roll out the dough and used cute little gingerman cookie cutters. I have decided I will be giving these out to all the dog lovers I know this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2spicepits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
If I had a dog I assume he/she would like them. They are a pretty healthy snack so I actually made them for myself! Clearly they're a bit dry but not too shabby when dunked in coffee or tea. I found it fun, in a gross way, to roll the dough into a narrow rod shape and stack them into little "piles".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
The picture that accompanies this recipe is deceiving and it may be carob coating, which is OK, but NEVER EVER dip your dog cookies in chocolate. Chocolate is very toxic to dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
4 dogs I know can't wait for these to come out of the oven! Okay, so I'm lazy and didn't bother to make them into doggie shapes, but the dogs didn't seem to mind! Healthy for the animals...easy easy easy to stir up and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States