Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I have made this recipe numerous times. This is my Chihuahua's favorite cookie by far. With my 2" bone shaped cookie cutter I get 70 cookies when rolled out to 1/4 in thick. I have also used whole oats in place of the wheat germ. Every dog I have given this cookie to they have asked for more. I also use local raw honey. If the dough is a little sticky when rolling out, just add a little more wheat flour until the stickiness is gone. To preserve the freshness, I refridgerate in an air tight container. This is a very healthy treat and 100% USA made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Dog approved (and a rather picky one at that)! Didn't have wheat germ, so used half ground flax/half ground oats. Subbed 1/2C ground oats for some of the wheat flour. Added enough extra flour while handling/rolling so that it wasn't really sticky anymore. Didn't bother with the egg white. Baked for 30 minutes, then turned off the heat and let partially cool in the oven, which left 1.5" rounds the consistency of a very dry cookie, but not hard or crunchy. This recipe almost filled a standard cookie sheet. Smelled great, a little bland/dry for my taste buds (yes, I tried a bite), but could taste the p.butter and banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
My little Chihuahua loved them! Actually my very strange teenage son said they were good too! ROFL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROKDARJELING

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Easy to do and my dog liked them. I doubled the recipe because it said it made 10, but normal recipe size would be plenty. I did use more like 1 1/2 c of flour instead of just 1 because it was so sticky. I also used regular flour and oats instead of wheat flour and wheat germ because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly the first time, and my 2 dogs loved the cookies. The second time I made it, I omitted the honey since I figured that the cookies are probably sweet enough. Easy to make. Next time, I will use oatmeal like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was easy & fun; the dog loves them! I only had white flour, so used it. It seemed to work, although my dough was very sticky. Will get some whole wheat flour for next time, will make them healthier. I didn't roll them out, just balled them and flattened with the bottom of a glass. I will do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I just made these treats for my two Dachshunds and they adored them! I added 1/4C of apple sauce, 1 tsp of Vanilla, and replaced the wheat germ with ground oats. They came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
The picture that accompanies this recipe is deceiving and it may be carob coating, which is OK, but NEVER EVER dip your dog cookies in chocolate. Chocolate is very toxic to dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made them w/ a small cutter about the size of a 50 cent piece. Made over 6 dozen small treats. Funny thing is our Akita Dru wouldn't touch them UNTIL they were fully cooled. Funny because he loves 'people' cookies right out of the oven. He loves them now! Suggest you roll them between two pieces of wax paper as the dough is VERY sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
How do dogs know when you are making these biscuits that they are " doggie cookies"! I have made them twice and both times when I start putting the ingredients together my dog comes out to the kitchen and sits and watches me make them!! As soon as they come out of the oven she watches and waits patiently until they are cool enough for her to have a sample. Very weird.... Anyway she loves them and since they are so easy to make she will continue to have a supply on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States