Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
My dogs love these cookies. I've made them as written, but also made them gluten free using ground golden flax seeds, chickpea flour and almond meal and they turned out great. I use a small ice cream scoop and place the balls on a cookie sheet and freeze the dough balls. I cut each ball of dough in four pieces before baking as to make nice small cookies, good for training.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is such a simple and easy recipe. My dogs (3) absolutely LOVE these and do just about anything for them! I came across this recipe about a month ago and have made it 3 times. I was so impressed with how much my dogs loved them that I began handing them out to my friends for their dogs. I have also tweaked the recipe a couple of times with other ingredients (pumpkin, oats, etc.) just to change it up. As a result of how easy this is, I have stopped buying treats. LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My two Boston Terriers love these treats! I double the recipe, bake half and freeze the other half for later -dough freezes well. I also don't want to take the time to roll out the dough and cut so I roll the dough into pea sized balls with my fingers and flatten with a fork (my dogs don't seem to mind this shortcut) I started making this recipe several years ago after hearing stories of dogs becoming ill from the ingredients in commercial treats. Again this week, I am hearing similar stories regarding tainted dog products, so I will keep making Baxter and Opal's favorite cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
These are awesome! Very simple and dogs love them. I made a whole bunch and even found myself snacking on them since they are so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My Princeton loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I made this with my friends for our dogs and they love it except my miniature schnauzer, but my lab and chihuahua loved it they total fall head over heels for it. I couldn't find any wheat germ so I use oats instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Made these for the dogs, but the kids ended up sneaking a few too. Both the kids AND the dogs enjoyed them. And best of all - no worry of recalls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
My super picky dog went completely nuts over these. These are the very first homemade dog treats that he actually likes. He will do just about anything for the pb and banana treats. I will make these over and over. I like that the ingredient list is short and simple, no extra shopping trips required, and they are very quick and easy to make. The dough is extremely sticky though, I had to use a lot of all purpose flour to be able to roll it out. They do smell a little funky when they come out of the oven I think, my husband didn't think it was bad. But it doesn't matter, I have a very happy dog here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I adapted the recipe by using oats instead of wheat germ. I used 2/3 cup oat flour and 1/3 cup whole wheat. Used 1-2 extra tablespoons of unsalted peanut butter. I then mixed it up with the kitchen aid, rolled it out on a silicone baking mat, cut it (carefully) with a pizza cutter and put the mat on a baking sheet. The entire process took about 15 minutes. The dog seems to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I have made this recipe numerous times. This is my Chihuahua's favorite cookie by far. With my 2" bone shaped cookie cutter I get 70 cookies when rolled out to 1/4 in thick. I have also used whole oats in place of the wheat germ. Every dog I have given this cookie to they have asked for more. I also use local raw honey. If the dough is a little sticky when rolling out, just add a little more wheat flour until the stickiness is gone. To preserve the freshness, I refridgerate in an air tight container. This is a very healthy treat and 100% USA made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States