Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I have never eaten a turnip in my life. This was so yummy. The only change I made was to add another tablespoon of butter. I wouldn't hesitate to make it again and and forward the recipe to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
We love turnips and they are always a part of our Thanksgiving feast. I use fat free half and half as needed along with butter, salt and pepper. I use a potato masher to break up my turnips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was so good. Couldn't stop doing taste tests & decided I better not have anymore so there would be enough to serve on Thanksgiving. The only thing I did different was to use only about 1/8-1/4 cup half & half to make them the consistency we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Perfect! Some may find this bland but it is just how I like it. Turnips are good with just milk and butter - yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DH's TT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
very good recipe, but like others, i don't like the excess liquid so i steam my cut up turnip. this makes a huge difference as to how much excess liquid there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Simple and tasty! Like other reviewers, I added just enough milk to reach our favorite consistency. Great mashed potato alternative for my family. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Turnips are a low-carb replacement for potatoes and this recipe is so easy that even a mentally challenged chimp like me can follow it. Try adding a couple of chicken bouillion cubes to the boil water for some extra flavor. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I grew up with similar recipe for holidays. I think the only reason we usually don't make them throughout the year is because those rutabagas are hard to cut and peel;) We add a bit of brown sugar and sometimes use sour cream in lieu of milk/cream. We mix the leftover turnips with leftover mashed which makes for a great taste sensation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were quite tasty. Like other posters, I added butter as if making mashed potatoes, and ended up using just a "splurt" of half and half. Turnips, by nature, have a very high water content, and so I see why others felt they were runny. I mashed them in the pot, with the butter and tiny amount of cream, and then turned the burner back up to medium to reduce the excess liquid before serving. That worked out quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States