Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by adrianne
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Made as written with whipped cream folded in. Eggs did not curdle but texture not smooth. Put it in graham cracker crust then topped with fresh strawberries. When completely chilled the texture was surprisingly creamy. Tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrianne
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
exactly what I was looking for as custard in a fruit pie. used two whole eggs for simplicity, instead of one whole and two yolks, and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Made this for my dad's birthday and he absolutely loved it. I did strain the mixture before putting it in to chill as a precaution, but otherwise I followed this recipe 100% and got a great result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Personally i like this recipe with everything, it's very good as a desert with fruits. The secret for the lumps is to mix the butter with the flour/ cornstarch, and to add the milk bit by bit. That's how my cooking teacher taught me, when i was studying cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Delicious! I used 3 yolks instead of 2 + a whole egg, vanilla paste instead of extract, and doubled the butter for a richer flavor. Tip for lumps:put through a fine sive and cover with plastic wrap touching the top of the cream (allow to cool completely before using), or once removed from the stove put it into the bowl of a mixer and with the paddle attachment mix on low/med speed until cool (still cover with plastic wrap touching the surface though when storing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana Casarez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This recipe is just amazing I follow the recipe exactly and no problems I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Perfect each and every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Made with pate a choux (cream puffs) Sooo yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Myrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
It tastes like eggs and ruined my eclairs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
excellent easy fast and so delicious!! all my friends just love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States