Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I've made this twice now and both times it was PERFECT! Followed the recipe exactly. No clumps if you whisk the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yum! My first time making custard.. Followed instructions and it came out beautiful. Did reduce sugar to 1/4 + 1/4 and it tasted great for me. Might even reduce a tad more next time. But recipe's a keeper surely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This recipe is exceptional for texture and ease of making it. I still gave it 5 stars even though it's a little sweet for my tastes, but that's not a reason to give it less stars. I am going to whip heavy cream and fold this in as soon as it's cool for a filling for cream puffs cause I like my filling a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
It was awesome..taste yummy too! You can eat it on its own too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Delicious!! I added extra vanilla and extra sugar. The family had my huge jar of it gone in a few days-- it's good with basically anything even remotely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I love this recipe it is so easy to make and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I liked this better than the flour thickened versions for my Boston cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the easiest recipe ever! Simple simon , made this 6 times in the last week , many requests , if you can't make this hire a cook to cook for you rest if your life, LOVE,LOVE,LOVE!!! I used almond instead of vanilla extract, the first time was told it taste like vanilla pudding , the almond is just the right trade yum ! o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luverne, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by devondoyle
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe is the jam. I added rum and ground cardamon as flavoring and used it in a Napolean and it turned out delicious. I didn't follow the method however. I put all the ingredients in a heavy bottomed pot except for the butter and flavoring and brought to a quick boil whisking the whole time over medium high heat (gas stove). Once thickened I strained the custard base over the butter and flavoring, whisked till incorporated, covered with plastic wrap and let it cool overnight. The flavor is better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great recipe! I did however use only the small amount of sugar, used potato starch (not potato flour) instead of corn starch being most certainly a GMO engineered product, I dissolved the starch in enough water to make it runny, mixed with the eggs,, removed the milk from the heat for a moment before adding the egg mix, then back on the medium hot burner, stirring constantly until thickened. Bingo! Oh, and I substituted some of the milk with whipping cream and I used a real vanilla bean (sliced open to release the black seeds, cooked with the milk then removed before adding anything). Hard to fail with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States