Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
It tastes like eggs and ruined my eclairs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
excellent easy fast and so delicious!! all my friends just love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by weeble
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
i used this recipe for pastry cream to fill my boston cream pie with. it was a huge hit. very easy to make. i didn't get any lumps, cuz i whisked constantly. that's the secret for no lumps. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Straightforward recipe. No problems with lumps for me. I added a touch of salt and freshly ground nutmeg to boost flavor. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
The pastry cream is delicious. The following modifications of the recipe should give you a lumpy free pasty cream. To start, follow the recipe until the milk and sugar comes to a boil. Turn off the heat. Start adding one to two tablespoons of the milk mixture into the egg mixture while whisking the egg mixture until you have used about half of the milk mixture. Then slowly pour the egg and milk mixture back into the saucepan while whisking the ingredients and turn the flame on to a low to medium heat stirring constantly until the mixture thickens. Then add the butter and vanilla and transfer into a bowl and follow the completion of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
good recipe worked well as a cream puff filling..one adjustment that i made was 1/4 cup less sugar 1tsp more of vanilla and itsp of salt...overall solid reference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
If you are looking for an excellent custard filling for cakes this is the best recipe. It is very forgiving, easy to prepare and holds up well even in combination with fruit. I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Wonderful! I also made this dairy-free using soy milk and margarine. At first it tastes gross but once the vanilla is added in, it's delicious! Keep stirring. Don't stop stirring. I used this for a fresh fruit tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myriam Isbored

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This turned out wonderful! I can, however, see how people could have problems with this recipe if they have never made a custard type recipe before. A critical part I find to be missing is to temper your egg mixture with about 1/2 cup heated mixture before combining them all together, so you won't have egg chunks. Slowly pour in your 1/2 cup heated milk while constantly stirring, then take that warmed up egg mixture and slowly add this to the remaining heated milk, again while constantly stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
More of a vanilla pudding; I don't know that I'd call it a pastry cream. I had no real issues with lumps as I slowly tempered the egg mixture with about 3/4 cup of the hot milk mixture, whisking the entire time, and continuing to whisk as I poured the hot egg mixture into the remaining milk. I removed the pan from the heat as I added the egg mixture to the milk and once it was combined I put it back on the burner, whisking until desired thickness was achieved. I removed from heat, whisked in the butter and vanilla, giving it a good blending, and it came out fine. My only issue is the flavor--I find it to be a bit blandish, hence the 3 stars. Perhaps more vanilla? This recipe worked up lickety split and worth a try and perhaps a repeat with the increased vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States