Pan De Sal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly and the dough barely rose at all. Its like unlevened bread. It still tastes ok, but something has got to be off in the ingredients- I dont know what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Great recipe!! I changed the temperature to 350 degrees instead. Use a non-stick sheet instead of using cooking spray, because the bottom will get burnt. Other than that, excellent recipe...authentic filipino dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Homemade pan de sal is difficult to find and this came close. It came out heavy the first time. But the second time was better. I've tried rolling out the dough and spreading ube (purple yam) in the middle and rolling it up and baking it. Tastes just like bread from the filipino bakeries! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
The first time I tried this, I overworked the bread and made MONAY rolls instead. I tried it a second time, taking care not to overwork the dough and increase the proofing time, but the bread still came out heavy. I'm going to hope the third time's the charm, but will have to increase the yeast for a lighter bread. I opted to give this a 4-star review because it made such good MONAY bread that I'll be using the original recipie again. Thanks Kim for the multi-purpose recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
The bread came out to heavy and it wasn't sweet enough. I will have to increase the sugar a bit and definetly will add another packet of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I tried a different recipe of pan de sal and it came out a bit hard on the outside but soft and tasty on the inside. Then I tried this recipe and it came out so much better. Now I dont have to buy it from the Philippine Bread House anymore. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
ran out of all purpose flour and used cake flour instead. also used butter to coat dough. and it came out great! gone in no time. i even stuffed the dough with ham and cheese (bite size) right before putting in the oven. baked at 375 for 15-20 min until top was lightly golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Thanksgiving morning I realized that I didn't quite have the 6 cups of all purpose flour required for this recipe, so I substituted bread flour to make up the difference (@ 1 1/2 cups). These came out perfect. Everyone seemed to really enjoy them, especially slathered with butter. They were quite easy to prepare, yet made the holiday just that much more special. Although the prep time stated is 2 hours, you only actually handle the dough for @ 20 - 30 minutes. The remaining time the dough is rising. Not much time invested for an end result so good. You should definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Great bread that stales slowly (still soft 4 days later). Went over well at a Mother's Day brunch - all ages enjoyed it. Very rich and silky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
These rolls taste really good, but I tried the recipe twice, and both times, it came out really heavy; it hardly rose at all. Maybe I need to go lighter on the flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States