Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this today--my first ever Pan de Muertos--and it turned out beautifully. I followed the recipe almost exactly (rare for me). I made anise tea, which I then let cool, in place of the warm water, and omitted the anise seed. The anise flavor wasn't as strong as I would have hoped, so I wouldn't suggest this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Excellent! I hadn't had pan de los muertos w/ a glaze before, but I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is an awesome bread! Wonderful flavors and a beautiful crumb. Only problem I have in the islands is getting a real crunchy crust. Humidity is just a little to high. Oh the sacrifice one makes to live in paradise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I made this for my Spanish class and it had a lot more flavor than the versions my classmates made. I don't know how true it is to traditional pan de muertos but it sure was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
So I finally had the guts to make my own Pan de Muerto. I live right on the border with Mexico, so I've tasted the good bakery pan de muerto, and it's my favorite! But I sometimes don't have time to cross and get some in time (they go fast!). So this year I made my own. I did no changes to this recipe and it was delicious!!! I love it! I will definitely be making this bread over and over again. My parents, babysitter, coworkers, son and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Delicious recipe! I did add an extra egg to give it added moisture. Came out perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Great recipe. Reminded me of the many months I spent in Mexico. I was, at first worried about the anise being too powerful (I put 2 tsp in the recipe). But it came out of the oven looking and tasting delicious! Very recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is now my favorite Pan de Muerto recipe! I doubled the recipe and it made two large loaves. The orange glaze was delicious. It's Excellent hot out of the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesusitadelnorte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FLASHMAN
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
So much easier than I expected. I followed the directions and shaped the loaf into a skull. The orange glaze gave it a great look, really beautiful the way the skull seemed to glow. And it tasted great, too! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kay
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I used anise extract instead of the seeds, added a couple teaspoons of vanilla and used bread flour as opposed to all-purpose. I strongly suggest letting it rise longer than the times listed here. In the future I would increase the hydration a little as well. Note, this is not a terribly fluffy bread, and it will dry out rather quickly. Makes the kitchen smell awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States