Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Excellent Bread. I mixed the dough in the doughmaker then let rise for 1 hour before baking in oven. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I'm not sure if I did something wrong. I followed the recipe exactly, but the bread was very dry and not enjoyable. Smelled great while cooking and the blend of tastes was interesting, just to dry for my family. Everyone tried it then left it alone. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made it twice in two days! Followed the recipe exactly except used Anise extract. I found out after the first loaf that 2 tsp anise seed =1 tsp anise extract. Still delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This turned out well, however it is a bit dry. Next time I might put some orange juice in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissathebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this today--my first ever Pan de Muertos--and it turned out beautifully. I followed the recipe almost exactly (rare for me). I made anise tea, which I then let cool, in place of the warm water, and omitted the anise seed. The anise flavor wasn't as strong as I would have hoped, so I wouldn't suggest this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Excellent! I hadn't had pan de los muertos w/ a glaze before, but I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is an awesome bread! Wonderful flavors and a beautiful crumb. Only problem I have in the islands is getting a real crunchy crust. Humidity is just a little to high. Oh the sacrifice one makes to live in paradise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I made this for my Spanish class and it had a lot more flavor than the versions my classmates made. I don't know how true it is to traditional pan de muertos but it sure was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
So I finally had the guts to make my own Pan de Muerto. I live right on the border with Mexico, so I've tasted the good bakery pan de muerto, and it's my favorite! But I sometimes don't have time to cross and get some in time (they go fast!). So this year I made my own. I did no changes to this recipe and it was delicious!!! I love it! I will definitely be making this bread over and over again. My parents, babysitter, coworkers, son and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Delicious recipe! I did add an extra egg to give it added moisture. Came out perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States