Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
November 1, 2013 My son and I made this recipe for his Spanish class. We made several substitutions: anise extract instead of seeds, orange extract instead of zest and we used half All Purpose flour and half bread flour. We also added 2 tablespoons of water to the recipe. We used a bread machine to make the dough on the quick cycle. It was easy to shape into a skull. We baked at 325 for 25 minutes. We made one large skull and a small one, also. Loved the orange glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this exactly as explained and it was great! Smelled wonderful, looked great, and both children and adults were delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I followed this recipe without orange zest and added cinnamon instead. It came out soooooo delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
easy and yummy. I actually brought the recipe down to 8, just to try it and it worked out wonderful. Loved the glaze and sugar topping, omitted the anise (I didn't have any) but thought the orange added a nice flavor. Much like a cinnamon roll with a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
i've made this the last 2 years for my mother in law and she loves it. it's a super easy recipe and i usually make a medium sized loaf and 2 small loaves. the only thing i changed is using 2 1/2 cups of flour because if you use 3 full cups the dough becomes dry and a little tough. all in all i will keep making this recipe every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great flavor! I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and did not sprinkle with the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this last year for Day of the Dead/Halloween/Samhain celebration and I think I'll make it again this year. The anise and orange flavor is not something I get everyday, and it has a dry, coffee-cake or panatone like texture and is just slightly sweet from the glaze. Good for breakfast with coffee or Mexican hot chocolate. I made it into a skull shape, poking in eye sockets and cutting a nose and teeth with scissors before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
OMG My daughter & I made this for a Spanish class project and it turned out AWESOME.Made two one for the class and one to eat yumo! Will make it again for sure! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Not too bad flavor wise, but it turned out a little harder than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Lorek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States