Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Excellent! I hadn't had pan de los muertos w/ a glaze before, but I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is an awesome bread! Wonderful flavors and a beautiful crumb. Only problem I have in the islands is getting a real crunchy crust. Humidity is just a little to high. Oh the sacrifice one makes to live in paradise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I made this for my Spanish class and it had a lot more flavor than the versions my classmates made. I don't know how true it is to traditional pan de muertos but it sure was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
So I finally had the guts to make my own Pan de Muerto. I live right on the border with Mexico, so I've tasted the good bakery pan de muerto, and it's my favorite! But I sometimes don't have time to cross and get some in time (they go fast!). So this year I made my own. I did no changes to this recipe and it was delicious!!! I love it! I will definitely be making this bread over and over again. My parents, babysitter, coworkers, son and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Delicious recipe! I did add an extra egg to give it added moisture. Came out perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Great recipe. Reminded me of the many months I spent in Mexico. I was, at first worried about the anise being too powerful (I put 2 tsp in the recipe). But it came out of the oven looking and tasting delicious! Very recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is now my favorite Pan de Muerto recipe! I doubled the recipe and it made two large loaves. The orange glaze was delicious. It's Excellent hot out of the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesusitadelnorte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FLASHMAN
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
So much easier than I expected. I followed the directions and shaped the loaf into a skull. The orange glaze gave it a great look, really beautiful the way the skull seemed to glow. And it tasted great, too! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kay
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I used anise extract instead of the seeds, added a couple teaspoons of vanilla and used bread flour as opposed to all-purpose. I strongly suggest letting it rise longer than the times listed here. In the future I would increase the hydration a little as well. Note, this is not a terribly fluffy bread, and it will dry out rather quickly. Makes the kitchen smell awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I have been making Pan de Muertos for years, using different recipes, this year I both decided to use a new recipe and use my bread maker. I used the recipe with two minor changes, a little extra water no more than two tablespoons and orange extract instead of zest. Is is absolutely the fluffiest version of this bread I've ever made. In my two pound bread maker it made a nearly full sized loaf and on light setting cooked perfectly (if a little crumby on the sides).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States