Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This bread came out great. The combination of the anise and the orange zest tasted great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
The glaze on this bread is really good! I used anise extract because I am not too fond of the seeds, but I think I might have used too much. Be cautious if you use the extract. Other than that, I really enjoyed this bread, it is good with tea and coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
once again iam one of those students who happen to find this recipe online just so i can make pan de muerto for my spanish class for extra credit. The bread turned out to be my teacher's favorite bread all thanks to the orange glaze and the anise seeds that make the bread have a unquie taste.After baking this for my spanish class, i had to bake another loaf for my family:) the only changes that i made was 1tsp of anise seeds instead of 2..with 1tsp it makes the bread have a unquie taste without having a strong taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This bread was wonderful, except for the fact that it should not be baked at 350, but at 325 for about 25-30 minutes. My first two loaves were burnt on the bottom, but the next 2 loaves were amazing! It tastes really good toasted w/butter, or as a sandwich bread. Yes, it is a bit dry so next time I might incorporate a little oj or milk in the mix. Great flavor none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Excellent Bread. I mixed the dough in the doughmaker then let rise for 1 hour before baking in oven. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I'm not sure if I did something wrong. I followed the recipe exactly, but the bread was very dry and not enjoyable. Smelled great while cooking and the blend of tastes was interesting, just to dry for my family. Everyone tried it then left it alone. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made it twice in two days! Followed the recipe exactly except used Anise extract. I found out after the first loaf that 2 tsp anise seed =1 tsp anise extract. Still delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This turned out well, however it is a bit dry. Next time I might put some orange juice in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissathebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this today--my first ever Pan de Muertos--and it turned out beautifully. I followed the recipe almost exactly (rare for me). I made anise tea, which I then let cool, in place of the warm water, and omitted the anise seed. The anise flavor wasn't as strong as I would have hoped, so I wouldn't suggest this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Excellent! I hadn't had pan de los muertos w/ a glaze before, but I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States