Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe. Easy . . . the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Excellent recipe, depending on whether we are wanting a very elegant dish or something hearty and homey I make this two ways. Following the recipe exactly gives you a beautiful, delicious and elegant soup. Or, if I want something with more substance as a main the I chop the celery more coursely, add half a chopped onion and a chopped potato. I garnish with chives. Either way, a really, really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very Elegant, Simple and Easy to prepare. Delicious in the end. The only moderation I made was to heat the Oysters in their liquid, first.....then SLOWLY add them to the rest of the mix before you heat it ALL up together. This dish is a Christmas Eve tradition in the South for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I am an Oyster Stew Connoisseur and can say without doubt that this the way to do Oyster Stew. When it comes to this type of stew, the simpler the better is key. I don't usually make mine with celery, but I do love the slight added crunch it offers, so now it's a staple. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Fantastic! I used Oysters caught the same morning and we had dinner in no time flat. Absolutely fabulous on a cold day. NOT for the dieters that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.T.Cole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Fantastic! And super easy! Tasted like I worked on it for days! I did add a diced up potato. Man I can't tell you how great this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I am not a big fan of Oyster Stew but my husband loved it! I made a few changes. I browned some bacon, then added the veggies with the butter including potatos. I used tabasco instead of cayenne. Fresh oysters are a must! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I grew up eating my grandparents Oyster Stew and loved it and have made it before but wanted to find a recipe with more substance, so tried this. WORD TO THE WISE, do not use FAT FREE 1/2 and 1/2 I got it by accident and it had a weird sweet taste that almost ruined the stew, I had to over salt & pepper it to cover that weird sweet taste. I too grated the celery, onion, and potatoe and the results were great, my husband who hates celery didn't even notice it!! Great recipe just get the correct ingredients ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
YUM and very easy! Served with good french bread and a big salad. My husband would eat this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have never been a big oyster stew fan but my husband is.So i made this for him and it was absolutely awesome.I ate almost as much he did.Will definitely make again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States