Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used this stew as a basis for our traditional Christmas Eve supper, and it was very good. I did make modifications based on our preferences and oyster availability. Here in the upper Midwest they cost a small fortune! So I used one pint of fresh oysters and one can of oysters. I also added 1/4 tsp. of celery salt and 1 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce based on my dad's recipe that I usually use, and used 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper. I used 1 pint of half and half and 1 pint of 2% milk and cut the butter to 1/4 cup since all half and half is a little rich for some family members who are sensitive to very rich foods. Even though I ended up changing up quite a few of the ingredients, it was a great change up of our traditional favorite. Since everyone thought it was even better than how I've made it in the past, I will make it like this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My dad usually always has to "add" something extra to suit his taste, but with this he didn't touch anything. I did add potatoes and just a splash of worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I can't say this is the best oyster stew I've had. Not a lot of favour..for my personal taste, you would have to add quite a bit of spices to suit. Definitely not a stew - more like a soup. My half and half cream curdled in this receipe so either I did something wrong or else this is something the chef/cook needs to be aware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is the perfect Oyster Stew!!! I just love it when the first recipe I find is perfection and I have to search no further and it is even better when I don't have to add my own touches.This has only happened 2 times and this is the second time. I did have to use canned oysters and I had extra shallots I didn't want to go to waist so I added them. other then that I followed it to a T for 8 servings because we wanted leftovers. This taste like my moms oyster stew she made when I was a kid to the best of my memory. We adore this oyster stew and will add it to our family recipes and make it many winter nights and for special suppers. Thanks Buddy for sharing this and not keeping this masterpiece to yourself. If I could give it 100 stars I would!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is great, but I try to lower calories and fat when possible. I used 1/4c (real) c. butter and 1 c. half and half with 2 c. fat free milk. (this makes a thinner soup, so I thickened it using 1 - 2 tsp flour. (or 1 c. left over mashed potatoes) - this works great) Other additives I use, occasionally include; (1) 1 clove of garlic, minced, and cooked with celery and shallots. If shallots not available, use 1 small finely chopped white onion. (2) 1 tsp chopped chives (3) Sprinkle top with mixture 1/2:1/2 paprika anc chili powder. (4) Serve in a bread bowl .>>toast the bread you have removed from the bread bowl to make dipping crutons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Mission, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Too thin needed to add thickening. Not too much flavor for me plus too much celery. It needs something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
My fiance loves oyster stew so I surprised him with this when he came home from a business trip. He absolutely loved it and tried to make a deal so I would make it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Love it! I added a few dashes of Old Bay Spice. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I did: 1 Cup Cream 3 Cup Milk 4 Tablespoons Butter 2 8oz can of Oyster, only drain 1 can Dash of Parsley 1 Tablespoon flour Directions: Put in 2 TBS butter let melt and add 1 TBS flour and stir till smooth. Add 3 cups milk & 1 cup cream, add salt, parsley, and pepper. Let is come to a boil and add 2 cans oyster, 2 TBS butter, and let it come back to a boil or till it foams up. Then let it sit for 10 min to cool and serve. By far the best I have ever had. Add some hot sauce to every spoon full and my son and I were in Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States