Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I have been making this for a while and I love it and so does everyone who has eaten it. A friend who grew up on Hooper Island, Eastern shore of Md. say it is the best. Can't get a better complament than that. I do add carrot chopped really fine and I use canned milk since that was what I had. I use it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Not a lot of flavor. i added diced potatoes as well and thought the half and half was a little too rich tasting to me so next time i will use milk like before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Lynn Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My kids wouldn't eat it. I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was super, I loved the addition of the potato. Thanks so much for sharing. mjperlin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious. I added a tablespoon of Sirachi sauce to my bowl prior to adding the stew for an extra kick. Kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ray
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very tasty. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very good base. A couple of changes I made was to add 1/4 tsp. baking soda dissolved in 1 tsp. water to prevent separation of butter and cream. Also added 1/2 C. cream sherry a bay leaf and a pinch or two of thyme. Going to let it sit for while, but a taste hints at awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Buddy, Buddy, Buddy!!! I have been using your recipe for several years now, and I don't know why I haven't reviewed it sooner. Making Oyster Stew for Christmas Eve has been a tradition in my family for generations. Unfortunately I am the only one keeping it alive. If more people tried my version of your recipe I could bring the tradition back I am sure! I do tweak your recipe just a bit, but I think you would approve. I amp up the calorie count by going whole hog, or is it cow, with heavy cream, instead of half-and-half. It's Christmas, so what the hay. I also add a dash or three of worcestershire sauce and just before I take it off the heat I stir in a shot or two of good sherry. My godmother taught me that and it adds a nice touch to the stew that I have grown fond of. We like to butter rounds of Norwegian Lefse and dip that into the stew, the butter melts into the stew and adds even more richness. I love it, I love it, I love it!! Thank you for bringing your wonderful recipe into my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
***** This is GREAT and will be served at my Hilton Head Island Villa during the week between Christmas and New Year. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States