Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is a delicious stew, however the fat content is so high. I substituted a low fat evaporated milk instead of cream and used 1/4 cup butter instead and it still held its rich and creamy taste. I really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Wonderful! And so simple to make. Followed the recipe except I added bacon, small cubed potatoes and sautéed them with the shallots and celery! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Being a Marylander, I tend to prefer the traditional Oyster Stew that I grew up on, with some oyster crackers on top. Yours was tasty, however, to me it's more like a clam chowder with an oyster substitute. Oyster Chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I added a couple of cloves of garlic, then finished with a splash of dry sherry. Perfectamundo! Well-received by even self-proclaimed "haters" :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
very simple and tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Along with small slices of potato, I also added 2 fresh minced slices of bacon. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apalachicola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
OH MY this was great I was ask to make oyster stew for a friend. I had never made oyster stew I had eaten it with my dad years ago but never made it so I tried this recipe I didn't use regular celery I used celery salt and onion flakes I fried them in the butter .but did everything else as listed it was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! will use this again and again thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Good base recipe...I ended up having to add more than just salt, pepper, and cayenne to it...I put some lemon pepper seasoning and garlic powder which gave it a really good flavor..I'm not a huge oyster fan but this really good...We had fresh picked Hood Canal Oysters...Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I'd make it a 5 but too much celery in this recipe, cut to 1/2 cup, add a small glove of fresh garlic. IT WAS GREAT!!! Fed 2 adults and one child. Nothing left, peferct~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very good recipe! Love it! I used canned oysters it was still awesome. If you're going to alter the recipe and make it YOUR way don't bother leaving a review because you are not reviewing the authors recipe you're reviewing YOUR VERSION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikethechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States