Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe was ok but I'd make some changes or just buy Irish Cream from the liquor store pre-made. I have granules spotting the drink which makes it look creepy. It also has a very strong coffee and almond flavor which over-powers the Irish whiskey flavor which is the BASIC flavor. I would reduce the amount of coffee and almond used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't feel the whiskey amount was too strong at all, but the heavy cream and almond extract ruined it for me. The heavy cream gave it a consistency I couldn't swallow and the almond extract was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I did put only 8 oz of Bailey's but, other than that, followed the recipe to the letter. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
eggcellent recipe!!!!! 2 much acohol tho. thx!! - mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Making this for the second time, amazing recipe! I must say though I don't think it tastes much like baileys - because its much much better. Given the fact that making this costs three times as much (where I live), if your looking for baileys taste, I say go buy a bottle of baileys.This is a much fresher, less artificial tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this recipe last weekend because I was craving Irish Cream but didn't have any. I read the reviews and the the only thing I changed was the amount of almond flavoring because it can be strong. I used about a scant 1/2 tsp. It was perfect, served it on the rocks for dessert...yummee. I actually preferred the flavor to store bought. Next time I think I will try using 1/2 & 1/2 only because I need to watch my fat intake. I'm sure it will also be delicious. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Keim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I read through all the suggestions/reviews before making and came up with the following balance - I only changed the amount of alcohol, since I didn't have irish whiskey, I used Chivas and only used 7 oz...I did try 10oz before, but find that 7 is the perfect balance. I also did not add the almond extract as we have allergies in our family and didn't want to take any chances. Other than these minor changes I followed the recipe exactly and it is perfect!! I plan on giving some bottled Irish cream as hostess gifts this x-mas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I cut the almond extract in half and STILL it tastes like almond cream liqueur. Also, I cut the sweetness a bit by using half sweetened condensed milk and half evaporated milk (aka unsweetened condensed milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Amazingly good in a cup of ice cold Diet Coke! I know... sounds weird huh? Well as much as I love to add this to a yummy cup of coffee ... I encourage you to try it in your favorite soda on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaCoffeeQueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made this to give as Christmas gifts one year and everyone loved it. The only change I made was to half the whiskey- and it was plenty! I would taste it before adding the full amount. MUCH cheaper than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States