Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
So here's what I did I substituted the whiskey for Spiced Rum and used 1-1/3 c. I used 30% cream. The rest I did per the recipe. It's actually very tasty. My only problem is that the cream kind of lumped together at the top rather than blending in. When I poured it in, it was smooth. When blended, I had floating little clumps of the cream. Anyway, as I said, very tasty. Just doesn't look like it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe is very similar to the one in the Eagle Condensed Milk cookbook. Except that one includes eggs. Without the eggs, it's a little thin (pasteurized eggs eliminates the threat of salmonella). As written, beware- it is very strong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
A hit every holiday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this yesterday. I followed the recipe but the cream curdled when I added the whiskey. How do I keep this from happening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Yum-- but very strong. I used half the whiskey (Jamiesons) and it was still potent, but ridiculously yummy. I made a large amount and gave it away as Christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I will make this again but next time reduce the almond to 1/2 tsp. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I love Irish cream but I don't like the calories that come with it, so I decided I would try to make my own slightly healthier version. I used fat-free half & half and fat-free sweetened condensed milk. I thought I had instant coffee but turned out not to so I used instant espresso instead - it was fine but I think next time I'll add a little less. I've been sipping on this for a few days now and gave it to some company tonight, they said they prefer it to Bailey's (which they find too sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBERLE3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I didn't use the almond, simply because I don't have that on hand in my pantry. The rest of the recipe I use exactly and it turns out great every time. It is much cheaper than buying Bailey's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Loved the recipe WITH the changes noted by other reviewers. Cut the whiskey down to 7/8 cup. OR, double all ingredients except the whiskey. Also, I make mine several days ahead and let the flavors blend. I leave it in the blender container in the frig and give it a quick blend just before serving. Soooo much better than Baileys. Everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I tried this with my own homemade chocolate syrup and Jim Beam Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey. The only thing I would change is lowering the amount of alcohol from 1.66 cups to about 1.25 cups. It is meant to be creamy, so I would not change the heavy cream in it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States