Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
As is this is quite good, with a good kick. On my second batch I increased the coffee to 1 tbsp, and decreased the chocolate to 1.5 tbsp, which was certainly more to my taste. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
reply to KWATERS: those bottles are called "swingtop bottles". (specialtybottles.com) Please...I'm not spamming! It's the only place I found them. Buy by the case of 12 and shipping costs are drastically cut. AS FOR THIS RECIPE!!!! YUMMMMMMY! This Irish Cream is an excellent recipe to suit to your individual taste! I made the recipe exactly to a "T" the first time. However, I've adapted it to better suit my tastes! The heavy cream left a "greasy" coating on my palate, so I use fat free half & half. 2 Tb. less of condensed milk, 1 and 1/4 cups of whiskey, melted semi sweet choc. pieces instead of choc. syrup, and NO almond extract. My amended recipe is smooth and creamy in texture, and I don't have the problem of the heavy cream clogging up the neck of my swingtop bottles! lol For those of you having a "curdling" problem; Make sure your cream is FRESH! Also, blending it too long, will make "whipped cream" which will separate! I stir everything in a bowl with a whisk. THEN add the half & half LAST, stirring just until incorporated. I funnel it into the swingtop bottles.(label and date them). I've been making this Irish Cream for over 6 years now with RAVE reviews. Countless times, I've given the original recipe by, "Mom" (THANK YOU!) along with my improvised recipe, so that people may try both of them! One more thing, sipping this Irish Cream, right after making it, is NOT the way it will taste after 5-7 days in the refrigerator! The flavors MUST have time to meld. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The other raters are correct - as is, it is too strong. I made it twice. The 2nd time I used 1.5 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 cup half and half (same amt of Jameson Irish whiskey). I also only used a scant 1/8 teas of almond extract. Still plenty strong enough, and over ice... yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I mixed triple recipe and used some of it to fill 3 16oz bottles that were shaped like Christmas trees, put a $20 bill in a ribbon tied around the neck of each bottle and gave them as gifts to three adult grandchildren - with warning to never drink and drive - to use the $20 to call a taxi if necessary. The remaining cream was put in a "mason jar" (sort of an upscale moonshine?)and taken to a family/friends party and, after dinner it was served in small liqueur glasses. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Used half cup cream and half cup half&half Reduced almond to 1/3 tsp and 1cup Jameson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Needs more chocolate and salt - then it's delicious! I doubled the chocolate, added a pinch of Himalayan pink salt, and ! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was really tasty. Not as strong as some other members suggested, and honestly it doesn't taste exactly like Bailey's - it's more chocolatey. The only thing I didn't add was the instant coffee because my hubby is not a coffee lover. My husband and I downed the entire pitcher in one night - I know - I have calorie remorse, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wishgirl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I gave this 4 stars out of 5 b/c the comments in reviews were spot on (reduce whiskey and almond extract, and use combo of cream and half-n-half). This is amazing in coffee!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yum! This is delicious! And my friends have devoured it! Per some reviewers suggestions, I did 1/2 heavy cream & 1/2 half 'n half, cut the almond extract to 1/2 tsp and added 1/2 tsp coconut extract. You can really adjust the whiskey (I used Bushmill's) to suit your tastes. For us, we decided about 1 1/2 cups was perfect. Thanks for the recipe - I'm off to make more now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent! I use half and half instead of whipping cream and find this to be spot on. Great for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chktrk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States